Six communities selected for Green Fleet program

2014-06-16T11:15:00Z 2014-06-16T17:41:12Z Six communities selected for Green Fleet programTimes Staff
June 16, 2014 11:15 am  • 

MERRILLVILLE | Two local partners selected six Northwest Indiana communities for the Green Fleet program.

Dyer, East Chicago, Hobart, LaPorte, Portage and Valparaiso were selected by South Shore Clean Cities and the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission.

"The goal of the Green Fleet program is to work with governmental fleets in Lake County, LaPorte County and Porter County to lessen the barriers to adopt alternative fuels and create policies to support reductions of petroleum use and vehicle emissions," said Carl Lisek, executive director of South Shore Clean Cities.

Lisek, who administers the NIRPC program, and his staff collect data about municipal fleet vehicles, analyze it and make recommendations to improve environmental performance.

"Solutions that work best for each city, town and department can be identified and implemented in ways that save money and improve the environment." said NIRPC environmental director Kathy Luther.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses

In This Issue

Professionals on the Move Banner
Get weekly ads via e-mail



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results