E-Day Awards

The Northwest ISBDC annual Entrepreneurial Excellence Awards (E-Day) luncheon is set for Wednesday at Avalon Manor, 3550 E. Lincoln Highway, Merrillville. 

John J. Watkins, The Times

Nine small businesses from around Northwest Indiana will be recognized on Wednesday for their contributions to the Region's economy. 

The 26th annual Entrepreneurial Excellence Awards event, also known as E-Day, is set for Wednesday from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Avalon Manor, 3550 E. Lincoln Highway in Merrillville. 

Keynote address will be given by Emerson Spartz, a Michigan City native and past E-Day young entrepreneur nominee. Spartz is CEO of Dose, a digital media company.

“Our E-Day winners may come from a variety of industries from all over the region, but they have something in common: their passion has created a measurable impact on our business community,” said Lorri Feldt, Northwest ISBDC regional director. “We are proud to provide a platform to showcase their entrepreneurial spirit.”

The 2017 E-Day winners include:

• Small Business Person of the Year: Pete Korellis, Korellis Roofing, Hammond

• Entrepreneurial Success: Donna Hubinger, Hubinger Landscaping, Crown Point 

• Emerging Business of the Year: Rich and Leslie Monroe, Monroe’s Crossing, New Carlisle

• Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Seth Spencer, SERA Solutions, Michigan City

• Family-Owned Business of the Year: Leep family, Pleasant View Dairy, Highland

• Women-Owned Business of the Year: Justine King, Bilingual Speech Solutions, Crown Point

• Small Business Exporter of the Year: Scott Yaeger, FAST International, LaPorte

• Small Business Advocate of the Year: Erica Dombey, Regional Development Company, Valparaiso

• Lifetime Achievement Award: Robert Coolman, Coolman Communities, Valparaiso

Tickets are $40 and may be purchased by visiting www.edayleaders.com/luncheon. For more information, call 219-644-3513 or email northwest@isbdc.org.


Business Editor

Larry is the Business Editor of The Times of Northwest Indiana.