School Buses

Thirty two Northwest Indiana schools were awarded top honors Tuesday in the state's annual Four Star School program.

John J. Watkins, The Times

Thirty two Northwest Indiana schools were awarded top honors Tuesday in the state's annual Four Star School program.

The Crown Point School Corp. has seven schools excelling in student tests and school accountability. The Catholic Diocese of Gary has Four Star Schools in Chesterton, Hammond, Merrillville, Michigan City and St. John.

Recognition also was extended to the Valparaiso Community Schools, the East Porter County School Corp., the School Town of Munster, the LaPorte Community School Corp., the Lake Central School Corp., the School City of Hobart, the School City of Whiting, the Kankakee Valley School Corp. and Lutheran Schools of Indiana in Valparaiso.

A total of 287 schools around the state received the 2014-15 designation. They were ranked in the upper 25 percent of the state in two categories of the (Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus) ISTEP tests which measure students' mastery of reading, writing, and mathematics.

A qualifying school also had to earn the highest designation in the state’s school accountability system, which measures student academic performance. The Four Star School program has been in place since 1988.

Glenda Ritz, Indiana’s superintendent of Public Instruction, said in a written statement, "I applaud the hard work and dedication of the students, educators and families at these exceptional schools as we transitioned to more rigorous college-and-career ready standards and assessments last year."

The Four Star Schools include:

Colonel John Wheeler Middle School, Crown Point

Crown Point High School

Dwight D Eisenhower Elementary School, Crown Point

Jerry Ross Elementary School, Crown Point

Lake Street Elementary School, Crown Point

Robert Taft Middle School, Crown Point

Solon Robinson Elementary School, Crown Point

Andrean High School, Merrillville

Bishop Noll Institute, Hammond

Marquette Catholic High School. Michigan City

Saint John Evangelist School, St John

St. Patrick School, Chesterton

Chesterton Middle School Chesterton

Kouts Elementary School, Kouts

Morgan Township Middle/High School, Valparaiso

Washington Twp Elementary School, Valparaiso

Washington Twp Middle/High School, Valparaiso

Kankakee Valley High School, Wheatfield

George Bibich Elementary School, Dyer

Lake Central High School, St. John

F Willard Crichfield Elementary, LaPorte

Indian Trail Elementary School, LaPorte

Liberty Elementary School, Hobart

Whiting High School

Frank H. Hammond Elementary School, Munster

Munster High School

Wilbur Wright Middle School, Munster

Cooks Corners Elementary School, Valparaiso

Memorial Elementary School, Valparaiso

Northview Elementary School, Valparaiso

Valparaiso High School

Immanuel Lutheran School, Valparaiso


Lake County reporter

Bill has reported in Lake County since 1972 after graduating from Indiana University. He has worked for The Times since 1997, covering the courts and local government during much of his tenure. Born and raised in New Albany, Ind., he is a native Hoosier.