Incumbents retained on Whiting School Board

2012-11-06T23:45:00Z 2012-11-06T23:54:05Z Incumbents retained on Whiting School BoardTimes Staff
November 06, 2012 11:45 pm  • 

WHITING | Three incumbents appeared to keep their seats Tuesday on the Whiting School Board.

Anthony Borgo, Michael Toth and Shawn Turpin led in the race for the three at-large seats, outpacing three other candidates in the field.

Turpin, who had the highest number of votes as of press time, will serve a third term on the board and emphasized the success of the School City of Whiting's new open-enrollment policy and energy conservation measures.

"I'm dedicated to the school district and the city of Whiting," Turpin had told The Times. "I'm never afraid to do what's in the best interest of students, be it academics, athletics or extra-curricular activities."

Turpin said big challenges for the district include keeping up with new state mandates and merit-based pay for teachers.

Long-term board member Borgo said the open enrollment policy had contributed to growth in the district, which he contended has helped Whiting schools avoid a state-mandated consolidation with another district.

Along with the three incumbents, the field had featured a first-time candidate, Michelle Espinosa, and two repeat candidates — Nina Pierce and Bryan David Ciers. Pierce had wanted to enhance relationships with the local library and other community groups. Ciers wanted new ideas considered in the high school curriculum.

"I want to improve ISTEP scores," Espinosa had told The Times. "Our scores are pretty good overall, but I want (to) help the students who aren't scoring so well."

The terms of current School Board members Lindy Fisher and Kathy Murzyn will come up for election in 2014.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses

Election Contacts

County election board and voter registration offices

Lake County Board of Elections and Registration
2293 N. Main Street
Crown Point, IN 46302
(219) 755-3795

Porter County Voters Registration
155 Indiana Avenue
Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 465-3484

Dates and Times

Primary Election: May 6, 2014
Election: Nov. 4, 2014
Poll hours: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.



Who do you support for the U.S. House of Representatives in District 1?

View Results


Illinois: Check registration, polling locations

Check your registration status and polling location in Illinois.

September 30, 2010 1:29 pm
Indiana: Check registration, polling locations

Check your registration status and polling location in Indiana.

September 30, 2010 3:20 pm