It's official: Romney wins Indiana

2012-12-17T17:15:00Z 2012-12-18T00:22:07Z It's official: Romney wins IndianaDan Carden, (317) 637-9078
December 17, 2012 5:15 pm  • 

INDIANAPOLIS | Chuck Williams, of Valparaiso, joined 10 other Hoosier Republicans in the Indiana House chamber Monday to officially cast the state's 11 electoral votes for Mitt Romney.

The Republican presidential candidate defeated Democratic President Barack Obama in Indiana, 1,420,543 votes to 1,152,887, entitling Romney's slate of presidential electors to award Indiana's electoral votes to the former Massachusetts governor.

Nationwide, Obama won 332 electoral votes to Romney's 206, earning Obama a second four-year term.

Williams said even though his candidate lost the election, it was still an honor to be one of the 538 Americans officially selecting the president.

"We're representing the state, so the fact that somebody's going to win or somebody's going to lose should not be relevant," Williams said. "I just wish I was on the winning side."

Indiana's electors convened at 9 a.m. region time in the House chamber. They were each issued a ballot, and while free to vote for anyone for president, all 11 voted for Romney.

The electors then signed many copies of the official result, including a copy that will be sent to Congress and opened during a joint session in early January where the official presidential election results from every state will be tabulated.

Williams, who was chosen at the state Republican Party convention to serve as a presidential elector, said he never considered voting for anyone other than the candidate he was pledged to support.

"It would be kind of a dereliction of duty," he said.

Under the U.S. Constitution, each state is assigned electoral votes equal to their representation in Congress. So Indiana, with its nine representatives in the U.S. House and two U.S. senators, has 11 electoral votes.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses

Election Contacts

County election board and voter registration offices

Lake County Board of Elections and Registration
2293 N. Main Street
Crown Point, IN 46302
(219) 755-3795

Porter County Voters Registration
155 Indiana Avenue
Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 465-3484

Dates and Times

Primary Election: May 6, 2014
Election: Nov. 4, 2014
Poll hours: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.



Who do you support for the U.S. House of Representatives in District 1?

View Results


Illinois: Check registration, polling locations

Check your registration status and polling location in Illinois.

September 30, 2010 1:29 pm
Indiana: Check registration, polling locations

Check your registration status and polling location in Indiana.

September 30, 2010 3:20 pm