Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Candidate lists for the May 8 primary

Candidate lists for the May 8 primary

A number of Republicans and Democrats have taken advantage of the first three days of the candidate filing period to find a spot on the May 8 ballot in Lake, Porter and LaPorte County.

Lake County

Democratic candidates include: Lake County Prosecutor Bernard A. Carter; 1st District Lake County Commissioner Kyle Allen; County Auditor John Petalas, County Treasurer Peggy Holinga-Katona, County Assessor Jerome Prince, Sheriff Oscar Martinez Jr. and his challengers Mike Brown, Richard D. Ligon and David A. Dowling

Also: 2nd District County Councilwoman Elsie Franklin and her challengers Jeremy M. Yancey and Clorius L. Lay; Charlie Brown and Ronier L. Scott for the 3rd District County Council seat; 5th District Councilwoman Christine Cid, 6th District Councilman Ted F. Bilski and Lorenzo Arredondo for county clerk.

Also: Calumet Township Trustee Kim Robinson and her challenger LaVetta Sparks-Wade; Hobart Township Trustee Thomas D. Silich; Hobart Township Assessor Randall J. Guernsey; Ross Township Trustee Joe Shudick and Ross Township Assessor Angela M. Guernsey; Hector Espinoza for Center Township trustee and George Baranowski for St. John Township trustee; Schererville Town Councilman Tom Schmitt and Steven Kramer for 5th District Dyer town council.

Republican candidates include: 4th District County Councilman Daniel E. Dernulc, Christian J. Jorgensen for the 7th District County Council seat; Cedar Creek Township Trustee Alice F. Dahl; Center Township Trustee Paul Bremer; Eagle Creek Township Trustee Rosemarie Morrow; St. John Township Assessor Deborah A. "Debbie" Walters; Winfield Township Trustee Paulette Skinner; John Brackins for St. John Township trustee and Heidi Goetz Laub for West Creek Township trustee.

Also: Cedar Lake Town Council members Randy Niemeyer and Julie Rivera, Dyer Town Councilwomen Mary Tanis and Debbie J. Astor, Lowell Town Councilman Christopher S. Salatas Jr., Schererville Town Councilman Kevin Connelly and Gerald Swets for St. John Council 3rd Ward.

Porter County

Democratic candidates include: County Auditor Vicki Urbanik; 2nd District County Councilman Jeremy Rivas; Lily M. Schaefer for recorder; Dale Bagnall and Randy Wilkening for coroner and Bob Poparad for 1st District County Council; Jackson Township Trustee Janice M. Meyers and Portage Township Assessor Alta Neri.

Republican candidates include: County Assessor Jon Snyder; 4th District Councilman Mike Jessen; Jon C. Miller for clerk; Chuck Harris for recorder; Thomas Ampeliotis and Cyndi Dykes for coroner; Clay M. Patton for Porter Superior Court No. 2 judge; Walter A. Dougherty and Mark "Coach" Hoffman for 3rd District County Council; Pleasant Township Trustee Jean C. Oehlman and Union Township Trustee George H. Topoll.

LaPorte County

Democratic candidates include: 2nd District County Councilman Randy Novak, 3rd District Councilman Mark S. Yagelski and Sheila Brillson for 1st District county commissioner; Hudson Township Trustee Joyce E. Forbes, New Durham Township Trustee Phillip J. Hannon and Union Township Trustee Sherian "Sherry" J. Morris.

Republican candidates include: 1st District County Councilman Terry L. Garner; 4th District Councilman Cary Kirkham; Connie Gramarossa for 1st District county commissioner; Justin Kiel and Dan Van Schoyck for 1st District county council; Hanna Township Trustee Glenn A. Wallace, Michigan Township Trustee Deborah E. "Deb" Vance and Kieth A. Harris her challenger.

Federal offices

U.S. Rep. Pete Visclosky, a Democrat and John Meyer, a Republican, filed for the 1st Congressional District.

Indiana General Assembly

Democrats: 4th District state Sen. Karen Tallian; 2nd District state Rep. Earl L. Harris and his challenger Jayson H. Reeves; Mark Back and Lisa Beck for the 19th House District

Republicans: 4th District state Sen. Ed Soliday; 11th District state Rep. Michael Aylesworth; 15th District state Rep. Hal Slager and 19th District state Rep. Julie Olthoff.



Lake County reporter

Bill has reported in Lake County since 1972 after graduating from Indiana University. He has worked for The Times since 1997, covering the courts and local government during much of his tenure. Born and raised in New Albany, Ind., he is a native Hoosier.