Five from region chosen for state boards, commissions

2012-12-02T00:00:00Z Five from region chosen for state boards, commissionsBy Dan Carden, (317) 637-9078
December 02, 2012 12:00 am  • 

INDIANAPOLIS | A Valparaiso woman who leads an organization that develops workforce solutions for cities and companies in Northwest Indiana is among five region residents recently appointed or reappointed by Gov. Mitch Daniels to various state boards and commissions.

Linda Woloshansky, president and CEO of the Valparaiso-based Center of Workforce Innovations, was chosen by the Republican governor to serve a four-year term on the Indiana Board for Proprietary Education.

As a member of the education panel, Woloshansky will help decide whether to grant Indiana accreditation to private career schools, such as business, technical and professional training programs.

The board's goal is to ensure regulated institutions perform at "the highest standards of educational conduct." Private career schools not approved by the board are prohibited from operating in Indiana.

Daniels' four other selections, all reappointments, were:

Edward Gottschling, of Portage, to the Indiana State Commission on Aging, which supports study and discussion of problems affecting the aging and the aged. His term expires July 1, 2013.

John Gustaitis, of Schererville, to the Indiana State Department of Health Executive Board, an advisory panel for the state health agency. His term expires Dec. 31, 2013.

Ronald Simko, of Crown Point, to the Indiana Occupational Safety Standards Commission, which sets worksite safety and health standards and reviews applications for variances and waivers. His term expires Nov. 1, 2015.

Alan Washburn, of Kentland, to the Indiana State Fair Board, the organization responsible for conducting the annual Indiana State Fair. His term expires Sept. 30, 2016.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results