Pence assigns seven area counties to Works Council

2013-07-17T18:00:00Z Pence assigns seven area counties to Works CouncilBy Dan Carden, (317) 637-9078

INDIANAPOLIS | Gov. Mike Pence has designated a seven-county area in Northwest Indiana as the state's Works Council No. 1.

Indiana Works Councils were established earlier this year to encourage regional business and education leaders to collaborate in developing career, technical or vocational education programs that meet the needs of local employers.

Members of Works Council No. 1, expected to be appointed by the governor in August, will help create programs for Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton, Jasper, Starke and Pulaski counties.

"All honest work is honorable work, and Indiana's schools should work just as well for our kids who want to get a job as they do for our kids who want to get a college degree," Pence said.

There are 11 Works Councils across the state.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results