H-F art students garner variety of awards

2014-03-28T00:00:00Z H-F art students garner variety of awardsFor The Times nwitimes.com
March 28, 2014 12:00 am  • 

FLOSSMOOR | Homewood-Flossmoor Community High School's Visual Arts Department was named the Best School Art Program in the state of Illinois by the Illinois Art Education Association in November 2013 — now this semester, it has been time for the department's students to shine. Several H-F art students have received recognition at area art shows and competitions during the past month.

On Feb. 14, students competed in the Southwest Suburban Conference Visual Arts Festival at Governors State University. Three H-F students received top awards:

• Katie Kuester (1st Place - Program Cover Design)

• Mia Guzynski (Best of Mixed Media)

• Rebecca Francis (Best of School - Photography)

Other participating students were Jayla Neely, Josephine Edelbrock, Chris Tillman, Lucy Sloan, Kate Morrill-Ploum, Angela Patterson and Kayla Reiser.

The following Sunday, Feb. 23, the IAEA sponsored its first High School Regional Art Exhibition at the Zhou B Arts Center in Chicago. At this exhibition, more than 325 students representing 65 high schools competed and were judged by a panel of 12 professional artists. Five students from H-F participated and four of them received awards:

• Ricky Dunn (Best of Show - Photography)

• Brittany Bautista (Honorable Mention - Graphic Design)

• Josephine Edelbrock (Honorable Mention - Sculpture)

• Denee Webster (Honorable Mention - Painting)

• Vera Dureke

On March 8, H-F A.P. Studio Art students were showcased in the Portfolio Scholarship Winners Art Show at Gallery 400 in Chicago. Four H-F seniors had submitted their portfolios to be viewed by colleges around the country through the Illinois High School Regional Arts Organization. These students have now been offered the following college scholarships:

• Jonnea Herman

- $21,000/year at the Kansas City Art Institute

- $7,000/year at the Memphis College of Art

• Zachary Larks

- $14,000/year at the College of Creative Studies

- $2,000/year at the University of Wisconsin

- $1,000/year at Arizona State University School of Art

- $1,000/year at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Peck School of Art

• Paige Milenkoff

- $14,000/year at the College of Creative Studies

• Vera Dureke

- $2,000/year at the University of Wisconsin

The students have been led this year by teachers Candi Helsel-Wilk, Greg Petecki, Melissa Sauder and Kristen Weidenhoefer.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



Should the Indiana attorney general's office compel all Lake County municipalities to merge E-911 dispatch services?

View Results

Illinois Newsletters