My turn

Total of 48 volunteers recognized at Lansing's Evening of Thanks

2012-11-18T00:00:00Z Total of 48 volunteers recognized at Lansing's Evening of ThanksCarrie Steinweg Times Columnist
November 18, 2012 12:00 am  • 

Last weekend I attended the Evening of Thanks dinner held at Serbian Social Center in Lansing. The event is organized by the Lansing Volunteer Recognition Committee to celebrate the many dedicated volunteers who give their time for various causes and organizations within the village.

This year was the sixth annual dinner and the largest one yet with 330 attendees and 48 volunteers being honored. Also awarded that evening was the ATHENA Award, which is given by the Lansing Business Women’s Association. Marilyn Kooy was the recipient of that award. I’ve known Marilyn for years through her involvement with the Lansing Historical Society. The award was a complete surprise and her children and grandchildren greeted her with flowers as she went up to receive her award.

Each year there are many names of the honorees that I recognize. Often volunteers are active in more than one group and you see them often around town and plenty of different functions. I’m also always amazed at how many new people I see and meet, showing me how many more people there are behind the scenes in so many places lending a hand. Here are the 2012 honorees:

Donna Murphy – American Legion Auxiliary Unit 697

Barbara McGowan – Buford Walker Senior Housing

Crystale Pierce – Calvin Coolidge School

Monica Lockton – Camp Quality

Terry Baranowski – Columbian Ladies of Lansing

Dorthea Carlson – First Reformed Church of Lansing

JoAnn Kijewski - First United Methodist Church

Marilyn Aiken – Friends of Lansing Library

Jim Heffron – Grace Reformed Church

Sally Valente – Hospice of the Calumet Area

Harry Morton – Kiwanis Club of Lansing

Patricia Leck – Lan Oak Park Foundation

Ralph and Linda Villarreal – Lansing Assembly of God

Stanley Bona – Lansing Boy Scouts

Diane Ostroski – Lansing Business Women’s Association

Lynn Cartwright – Lansing Chamber of Commerce

Cephas Mickles – Lansing Church of Christ

Elaine McGrail – Lansing Community Pantry

Crystale Pierce – Lansing Girl Scouts

Len Koenes – Lansing Golden K Kiwanis

Paul Schultz – Lansing Historical Society

Patty Eidam – Lansing Junior Woman’s Club

Dom Ramirez – Lansing Knights of Columbus

Mike Winters – Lansing Lions Club

Elizabeth Paulsen – Lansing Meals on Wheels

Debbie Dennis – Lansing Presbyterian Church

Tom Nowak – Lansing Public Library

Jacob Kosiara – Lansing Redbird Baseball Club

Desiree Wilson – Lansing Swim Organization

Jeff Schoettle – Lansing Veterans Memorial Ceremonial Honor Guard

Clara Krygsheld – Lansing Volleyball

Kevin Yarasovich – Lansing’s Neighborhood Network

Denise Dickey – Lester Crawl School

Joanne Becker – Luther East High School

Alejandra Nieto – Memorial Junior High School

Roberto Mendoza – new Hope Church

Kathy Sylvester – Oak Glen School

Jasmine Goodloe – Patti Leach Youth Center

Richard Turek – Rotary Club of Lansing

Kim Jacobson – St. Ann Parish

Monica Scheppe – St. Ann School

Marilyn Schultz – St. John’s Ev. Lutheran Church

William Albrecht – St. John’s Ev. Lutheran School

Sherri Farlow – T.F. South Athletic Booster Club

Cheri Vana – T.F. South Music Parents Association

Rosayln Hathorn – The Success Center

Maria Gonzalez – W.C. Reavis School

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Lansing

Mayor's Office

Lansing Municipal Center
3141 Ridge Road Lansing, IL 60438

Police Department

2710 170th Street Lansing, IL 60438

Fire Department

19300 Burnham Avenue Lansing, IL 60438

Lan-Oak Park District

17551 Chicago Avenue Lansing, IL 60438

Lansing School District 158

18300 Greenbay Avenue Lansing, IL 60438