South Holland board approves committee, commission members

2012-05-07T23:00:00Z South Holland board approves committee, commission membersBy Bob Moulesong Times Correspondent
May 07, 2012 11:00 pm  • 

SOUTH HOLLAND | The Village Board approved the appointments of about 260 volunteers to various positions on committees and commissions that will help run the village government.

"It is important for all of you to understand that you will help shape our village government over the course of the next year," Village President Don De Graff told the volunteers who attended Monday night's board meeting. "The work you do is very important to help shape our government."

May 1 is the beginning of the South Holland fiscal year, and the time when volunteers are appointed for a one-year term. Monday night's board meeting was the first one after the beginning of the fiscal year.

Committees and commissions include the Beautification Committee, the Cable Commission, the Communications Commission, the Neighborhood Groups Committee, the Education Commission, the Fire and Police Commission and the Flood Control Committee.

"We welcome all of you to our government circle," De Graff said after the motion was passed. "We are looking forward to a challenging and rewarding year."

De Graff also appointed trustees to chair specific standing committees.

Trustee Mathew James will chair the Public Works Committee, which oversees streets, sidewalks, lights and sewers.

Trustee Keith Chambers will chair the Public Safety Committee, which oversees police, fire, paramedics and the emergency Services and Disaster Agency.

Trustee John Sullivan will chair the Finance Committee, which oversees appropriations, salary, insurance and personnel.

Trustee Andrew Johnson will chair the Parks and Recreation Committee, which oversees park operations and programs.

Trustee Cindy Doorn will chair the Community Coordination Committee, which oversees libraries, public relations and service organizations.

Trustee Larry DeYoung will chair the Community Development Committee, which oversees licenses, permits, zoning and planning.

The Village Board also approved a motion to sell surplus village vehicles at the Dyer Auto Auction in Dyer. A limited number of vehicles that have been declared as surplus will be auctioned during the upcoming weeks.

The board approved a resolution to grant a tax incentive to the property at 117-121 W. 157th St. Gerald Miester will purchase the parcels, which include an empty 33,000-square-foot building. Miester plans to rehab the building and turn it into a commercial warehouse. The tax incentive will allow Miester to pay less property tax during the first 10 years.

A resolution was adopted that will limit the number of commercial day care licenses available from the village. De Graff said the village wanted to keep a balance between the number of day care centers and the number of retail licenses available to help keep economic development diversified.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



Who do you support for the U.S. House of Representatives in District 1?

View Results

Illinois Newsletters