Local school districts to share $975K for building repairs

2012-10-12T00:00:00Z Local school districts to share $975K for building repairsTimes Staff nwitimes.com
October 12, 2012 12:00 am  • 

State Sen. Toi Hutchinson, D-Chicago Heights, announced Thursday that close to $975,000 will be allocated to local school districts by the state for repairs and maintenance, according to a news release.

The money will be used for basic repairs to current facilities, including asbestos removal, fixing parking lots, bleacher repairs and other maintenance. It is from a state grant matching program. The maximum the state will match is $50,000.

"There are many schools in the area that are in need of basic repairs," Hutchinson said in a prepared statement. "These are necessary for a safe learning environment for these students."

Local school districts receiving grant money include Bloom Township High School District 206, Community Consolidated School District 168, Chicago Heights School District 170, Flossmoor School District 161, Homewood School District 153, Sandridge School District 172, Steger School District 194 and Sunnybrook School District 171.

In Will County, Beecher School District 200U, Crete-Monee School District 201U and Peotone School District will share in the funds.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



Who do you support for the U.S. House of Representatives in District 1?

View Results

Illinois Newsletters