Lake County students are hooked on books

2010-06-24T18:56:00Z 2010-06-27T16:35:02Z Lake County students are hooked on booksFor The Times
June 24, 2010 6:56 pm  • 

MERRILLVILLE | The Lake County Public Library Foundation recognized first place earners for the annual Read-a-Thon with an awards breakfast held at the Patio Restaurant in May.

The winners are Madelyn Colby, Joe Ewen, Ameer Rifai, Amelia Marshall, Morgan McKinney, Alyssa Strege, Kalista Belko, Kayla Swisher, Antionette Ulrich, Timmy Burton and Alexis Miller.

Each year the foundation encourages schools in Gary's Calumet Township, Merrillville, Cedar Lake, Dyer, Schererville, Griffith, Highland, Hobart, Lake Station, Munster, New Chicago and St. John to promote reading.

Children participate by seeking sponsors, then reading as many books as possible during the six-week read-a-thon. Once the funds have been collected, schools receive one-third of the total raised by their students for their library. This year, 1,298 children participated and nearly $21,000 was given to the schools. And every student who participated received a trophy or awards ribbon.

In addition gift cards from bookstores were awarded to youngsters in first through eighth place in each library branch district, with this recognition of 83 young readers in all.



Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Cedar Lake

Cedar Lake Town Hall

7408 Constitution Ave Cedar Lake, IN 46303

Cedar Lake Police Department

7408 Constitution Ave Cedar Lake, IN 46303

Cedar Lake Fire Department

P.O. Box 459
9400 W 133rd Ave. Cedar Lake, IN 46303

Cedar Lake Parks and Recreation

7408 Constitution Ave Cedar Lake, IN 46303

Hanover Community School Corporation

9520 W. 133rd Ave, Cedar Lake, IN 46303