C.P. Mayor Uran is elected chairman of NIRPC board

2013-01-23T00:05:00Z C.P. Mayor Uran is elected chairman of NIRPC boardTimes Staff nwitimes.com
January 23, 2013 12:05 am  • 

CROWN POINT |  Crown Point Mayor David Uran has been elected chairman of the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission.

Uran has served on NIRPC's executive board and previously was its vice chairman and treasurer.

Other officers elected at the last week's meeting are Hobart Mayor Brian Snedecor, vice chairman; LaPorte Mayor Blair Milo, treasurer; and Chesterton Town Councilman Jim Ton, secretary.

The other NIPRC executive board members chosen at the meeting were Porter County Commissioner Nancy Adams, Lake County Commissioner Roosevelt Allen, East Chicago Mayor Anthony Copeland, LaPorte County Commissioner Dave Decker, Hebron Town Councilman Don Ensign and Long Beach  council President Bob Schaefer.

Chet Dobis, of Schererville, continues to serve on the executive board as the governor's appointment and Beverly Shores Town Councilman Geof Benson will serve in a nonvoting capacity as the immediate past chairman.

NIRPC is the council of governments and metropolitan planning organizations serving the region comprised of Lake, Porter and LaPorte counties.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Crown Point

City Hall
101 N. East Street
Crown Point, Ind. 46307
(219) 662-3240

Police Department
124 N. East Street
Crown Point, Ind. 46307
(219) 663-2131

Fire Department
126 N. East Street
Crown Point, Ind. 46307
(219) 662-3248

Crown Point Community Schools
200 E. North Street
Crown Point, Ind. 46307
(219) 663-3371

Crown Point Parks and Recreation
11065 Broadway, Suite F
Crown Point, Ind. 46307
(219) 661-2271