Foundation awards scholarships

2013-07-26T00:00:00Z Foundation awards scholarshipsBy Times Staff
July 26, 2013 12:00 am  • 

EAST CHICAGO | The Rosalyn L. Weems Memorial Scholarship and Youth Foundation Board of Directors recently awarded scholarships to six high school graduates.

The recipients are Sierra Smith, who will attend Indiana University in Bloomington; Alyssa Sims, who will attend Indiana State University; Afernee Brown, planning to enroll at Florida Southern College; Marsalis Gibson, headed to the University of California - Berkley; Quiairah Johnson, who will enroll at the University of Indianapolis; and Tracy Anderson, planning to attend Manchester University.

The nonprofit foundation was established in 2003 in memory of Rosalyn L. Weems, 22, a second-year honor student at the Indiana University School of Nursing in Bloomington who died in May, 1995. Her parents chose to honor her memory by providing scholarships and assistance to other students achieving academic success.


Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About East Chicago

Office of the Mayor

4527 Indianapolis Blvd. East Chicago, IN 46312

Police Department

2301 E. Columbus Dr. East Chicago, IN 46312

Fire Department

3901 Indianapolis Blvd East Chicago, IN 46312

East Chicago Park Department

1615 E. 142nd Street East Chicago, IN 46312

School City of East Chicago

210 East Columbus Drive East Chicago, IN 46312
Phone: 219.391.4100

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses