IU Northwest announces Board of Advisors

2013-09-19T13:58:00Z IU Northwest announces Board of AdvisorsErika Rose | Office of Marketing and Communications at Indiana University Northwest nwitimes.com

GARY | Indiana University Northwest Chancellor William J. Lowe recently announced the appointment of the campus’s Board of Advisors.

Twenty-five Northwest Indiana business, civic, nonprofit and education leaders, recommended by Lowe and approved by the Indiana University Board of Trustees, will advise IU Northwest on matters related to campus planning, including enrollment, organization, academic programs, and community engagement. The composition of the Board of Advisors is an effort to reflect Northwest Indiana’s diversity and the student and community constituencies that IU Northwest serves.

The Board of Advisors will meet several times during the academic year. The group held its first meeting of the academic year at IU Northwest Sept. 18. Members serve staggered two- and three-year terms.

Serving on the IU Northwest Board of Advisors are:

David Allard, Allard Rental Corp.

Vanessa Allen, Urban League of Northwest Indiana

Garry Aloia, Mortgage Co. Management, LLC

Mary Goolik, IU Northwest School of Nursing

Cal Bellamy, Krieg DeVault, LLP

Tom Collins, Collins Interests Ltd.

Phil Eskew, IU Board of Trustees

E. Ric Frataccia, Portage Township Schools

Karen Freeman-Wilson, City of Gary Mayor

Chuck Hughes, Gary Chamber of Commerce

Sharon Johnson-Shirley, Lake Ridge Schools

Nancy Hamblin, former teacher and IU Alumni Association Board

William Lowe, IU Northwest Chancellor

Mark Lucas, Lucas, Holcomb & Medrea

Gavin Mariano, Crisis Center, Inc. / Hispanic Organization Promoting Excellence (HOPE)

John MacLennan, MacLennan & Bain Insurance

Chris Morrow, Home State Bank NA

Cynthia Powers, Century 21, Powers Realty, Inc.

Lynn Gassoway-Reichle, Dr. Lynn Gassoway, DDS

F.C. Richardson, Chancellor Emeritus, IU Southeast

Jill Ritchie, US Steel Gary Works and Chair of NWI Forum

David Ryan, Lakeshore Chamber of Commerce

Janet Seabrook, Community HealthNet, Inc.

Steve Simpson, Life Services Professional Corp.

Mike Suggs, NIPSCO

The IU Board of Trustees has approved and encouraged the formation of Boards of Advisors for more than 40 years, as a way to support the close connections between the IU regional campuses and the communities that they serve and to enable the Trustees to benefit from the counsel and experience of regional community leaders. An IU trustee serves on each regional campus Board of Advisors.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Gary

City of Gary

City Hall Office of the Mayor
401 Broadway Gary, IN 46402

Police Department

555 Polk St. Gary, IN 46402
219.881.1214 Front Desk
219.881.1293 Fax

Fire Department

200 East 5th Avenue Gary, IN 46402
219.881.4779 - 24 Hour Business

Parks and Recreation

455 Massachusetts St. Gary, IN 46402
219.881.0008 Fax

Gary Community School Corporation

620 East 10th Place Gary, IN 46402

Featured Businesses