Comcast scholarships recognize community service

2013-07-24T00:00:00Z Comcast scholarships recognize community serviceBy Times Staff
July 24, 2013 12:00 am  • 

The Comcast Foundation, founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives, is awarding 65 Indiana high school seniors scholarships through its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program.

The program recognizes students' leadership skills, academic achievement and commitment to community service.

Indiana First Lady Karen Pence and Comcast Regional Senior Vice President Tim Collins co-hosted an event this spring for the scholarship recipients and their family members at the Indiana Statehouse in Indianapolis.

“As someone who has first-hand experience with the outstanding group of students we have in Indiana, I am proud to be able to recognize the Leaders and Achievers scholarship winners and to wish them well on their next journey to higher education,” Pence said. “The future is bright for our great state when we have young emerging leaders, like these 65 students, who also recognize the importance of giving back to the community as part of their path to becoming good citizens.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The program demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

"Comcast has a vested interest in providing our youth with opportunities to excel and succeed in a highly competitive, higher education landscape and job market," Collins said. "We view these young men and women as potentially future Comcast employees; we wish them much success and we commend them for their outstanding achievements."

To date, Comcast has awarded nearly $19 million to nearly 19,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners.

“Comcast seeks students who demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities and who reflect a strong commitment to community service. These students are our future leaders, and we hope these scholarships will help to power their dreams for success,” said Charisse R. Lillie, president of the Comcast Foundation and vice president, Community Investment of Comcast Corporation.

Local scholarship recipients are: Collin Czilli, of Portage, Portage High School; Kayla Dunbar, of LaPorte, LaPorte High School; Katelyn Goodrich, of Hammond, Gavit Middle-High School; Joshua Haynes, of Merrillville, Merrillville High School; Madeline Jewell, of Hobart, Hobart High School; Alysia Regina Jones, of Highland, Highland High School; Nicole Kaminsky, of Hebron, Boone Grove High School; Nathan Kondamuri, of Dyer, Munster High School; Rylie Shrum, of Hebron, Hebron Jr-Sr High School; and Anna Swan, of Dyer, Lake Central High School.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Hammond

Hammond City Hall

5925 Calumet Avenue Hammond, IN 46320

Police Department

509 Douglas Street Hammond, IN 46320

Fire Department

6110 Calumet Avenue Hammond, IN 46320

Parks and Recreation

5825 Sohl Avenue Hammond, IN 46320

School City of Hammond

41 Williams Street Hammond, IN 46320

Latest Local Offers