Lake County Public Library presents Read-a-Thon awards

2013-06-17T00:00:00Z Lake County Public Library presents Read-a-Thon awardsBy Times Staff
June 17, 2013 12:00 am  • 

HOBART | The Lake County Public Library Foundation recognized first-place winners of the annual Read-a-Thon recently at Avalon Manor.

Foundation members Michael McIntyre, Marti Ross, Dian Reyome, Charlotte Malone-Williams and Charman Shields-Williamson presented the winners with their trophies: Antionette Ulrich, Halie Meeks, Amesha Franklin, Keirstynn Elder, Mitchell Walsh, Shirmara Anderson, Turner Elderle, Joey LaPatra, Dimistri Dovellos and Amelia Marshall.

Each year, the foundation encourages schools in Gary, Merrillville, Cedar Lake, Dyer, Schererville, Griffith, Highland, Hobart, Lake Station, Munster, New Chicago, and St. John to promote reading. Children participate by seeking sponsors, then reading as many books as possible during the six-week Read-a-Thon.

Once the pledges have been collected, schools receive one-third of the total raised by their students for the school library, while the rest of the donations are directed to the foundation for the Lake County Public Library.

This year, 1,273 children participated and more than $21,000 was given to the schools. Trophies were given to all students who raised money and gift cards from book stores were given to students in first through eighth place.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Hobart

City Hall
414 Main Street Hobart, IN 46342
(219) 942-1940

Police Department
705 E. Fourth St. Hobart, IN 46342
(219) 942-1125

Fire Department
400 E. 10th Street Hobart, IN 46342
(219) 942-5184

Public Works
414 Main Street Hobart, IN 46342
(219) 942-6121

School City of Hobart
32 East 7th Street, Hobart, In 46342
(219) 942-8885

Latest Local Offers