Lowell forwards shared resources document to police commission

2013-09-29T17:24:00Z 2013-09-29T19:21:14Z Lowell forwards shared resources document to police commissionMelanie Csepgia Times Correspondent nwitimes.com
September 29, 2013 5:24 pm  • 

LOWELL | The Lowell Town Council is sending an agreement to share police personnel and resources with Cedar Lake on to the Lowell Police Commission for its recommendation.

Council President Edgar Corns, R-5th, said last week the draft agreement was "worked out" among himself, Councilman Don Parker, D-3rd, Cedar Lake Town Council President Randy Niemeyer and Vice President Ralph Miller when there were issues within the Lowell Police Department.

Cedar Lake Attorney David Austgen authored the document.

Lowell Police Chief Erik Matson now is the department head and Detective James Woestmann is the assistant chief. Former chief John Shelhart and assistant chief Scott Tokach are no longer with the department.

Parker said the draft agreement came out of a request from Cedar Lake to talk about "working together." The draft contains provisions with which he does not agree, he said. He would like to look at ways in which the two towns can assist each other with mutual services, he said.

The draft agreement was not made available to the public.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Lowell

Lowell Town Hall

501 E Main Street Lowell, IN 46356

Lowell Police Department

1333 E. Commercial Lowell, IN 46356

Lowell Fire Department

P.O. Box 327
1331 E. Commercial Avenue Lowell, IN 46356

Lowell Park Board

17105 Cline Avenue Lowell, IN 46356

Tri–Creek School Corporation

195 West Oakley Avenue, Lowell, IN 46356

Featured Businesses