Lowell swears in two police officers

2013-11-12T20:46:00Z 2013-11-12T23:09:08Z Lowell swears in two police officersMelanie Csepiga Times Correspondent nwitimes.com
November 12, 2013 8:46 pm  • 

LOWELL | After months of operating with low manpower, the town's Police Department returned to a full roster after two men were sworn in as police officers Monday before the Town Council

Christopher Thompson, of Lowell, and Nicholas Kaczmarczyk, of Crown Point, both 23 and Purdue graduates, were recommended by Police Chief Erik Matson.

"They both tested very high ... I know they will do well," Matson said.

Thompson has served for a year as a reserve officer with the Lowell department as well as six months as a full-time dispatcher. Matson said a part-time dispatcher has moved up into Thompson's slot.

Both Kaczmarczyk and Thompson will attend the Northwest Indiana Law Enforcement Academy in January, Matson said. That means the two are expected to be ready to be on their own by May 1, he said.

The duo replaces former Chief John Shelhart, who retired in March, and former Assistant Chief Scott Tokach, who retired one month later.

Detective Cpl. James Woestman was appointed assistant police chief in August.

In another matter, Matson said the Lowell Traffic Commission recommended a stop sign be placed at Lucas Parkway and Deanna Drive to form a three-way stop.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Lowell

Lowell Town Hall

501 E Main Street Lowell, IN 46356

Lowell Police Department

1333 E. Commercial Lowell, IN 46356

Lowell Fire Department

P.O. Box 327
1331 E. Commercial Avenue Lowell, IN 46356

Lowell Park Board

17105 Cline Avenue Lowell, IN 46356

Tri–Creek School Corporation

195 West Oakley Avenue, Lowell, IN 46356

Featured Businesses