19 area students among National Merit semifinalists

2012-09-11T18:00:00Z 19 area students among National Merit semifinalistsTimes Staff nwitimes.com
September 11, 2012 6:00 pm  • 

Nineteen local students are among 16,000 semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

Indiana students include Elizabeth Benson and Spencer Gordon, Chesterton High School; Brandi Collins and Kelsey Hopkins, Crown Point High School; Seth Hershberger, Kouts High School; Samuel Dong, Emma Hong, Nathan Kondamuri, Peter Kraft, Michael Peters and Jennifer Tassaro, Munster High School; Melanija Grozdanoska, Paul Truc C. Lai and Peter Hieu T. Lai, Lake Central High School, St. John; Soren Bjornstad and Sarah Simon, Valparaiso High School; and Holly Evans, Washington Township High School, Valparaiso.

Illinois students include Ryan Woods, Beecher High School; Timothy Lavelle, Marian Catholic High School, Chicago Heights; and Kevin Gisiason, Homewood-Flossmoor Community High School, Flossmoor.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Munster Tab Promo Banner

About Munster

Town of Munster

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321

Police Department

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321
Non-emergency 219.836.6600

Fire Department

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321
Non-emergency 219.836.6960

School Town of Munster

8616 Columbia Ave
Phone: 219.836.9111

Latest Local Offers