Elected officials govern Munster

2013-04-24T00:00:00Z Elected officials govern MunsterBy LuAnn Franklin nwitimes.com
April 24, 2013 12:00 am  • 

Munster is an incorporated town and as such is governed by an elected Town Council, composed of five individuals. According to Indiana law, the Town Council is responsible for enacting ordinances and policies, supervising the town’s administrative staff and making financial decisions that keep Munster functioning.

These same five elected officials and a non-voting representative of the elected Munster School Board also are the Munster Redevelopment Commission that has authority over the use of tax increment financing (TIF) funds and is empowered to issue economic development bonds.

Joseph Simonetto, Ward 3 council member, serves as president of the Town Council and chairman of the Redevelopment Commission. As council president, Simonetto is the town’s chief executive. A retired business professional, Simonetto is serving his first term on the council. His email address is jsimonetto@munster.org.

John Reed, Ward 1, is an attorney. This is his first term as a Munster Town Council member. His email address is jreed@munster.org.

John Edington, Ward 2, is a retired teacher of life sciences from Munster High School and had been a council member since 2004. To reach him, email jedington43@comcast.net.

Dave Nellans, Ward 4, retired as vice president of engineering and support services from Community Hospital. He was first elected to the Town Council in November 1999. He can be reached at dnellans@munster.org

Dr. Andy Koultourides, DDS, was originally selected by Republican caucus in 2010 to hold an appointment as Town Councilman for Ward 5. He was elected to his first four-year term in November 2011. His email address is drkoul@sbcglobal.net.

The town’s sixth elected official is the Clerk-Treasurer who receives and disburses monies as directed by the Town Council, keeps the Town books and records, assists in preparing budgets, and has a vote on the Town Council in case of a tie.

Munster Clerk-Treasurer Dave Shafer was first elected in November 1999. He was a Munster Town Councilman from 1992 to 1998. He can be reached at Town Hall, 219-836-6945 or by email at dshafer@munster.org

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Munster Tab Promo Banner

About Munster

Town of Munster

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321

Police Department

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321
Non-emergency 219.836.6600

Fire Department

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321
Non-emergency 219.836.6960

School Town of Munster

8616 Columbia Ave
Phone: 219.836.9111

Latest Local Offers