Three new Munster police officers sworn in

2013-07-29T19:00:00Z 2013-07-29T22:09:07Z Three new Munster police officers sworn inLu Ann Franklin Times Correspondent
July 29, 2013 7:00 pm  • 

MUNSTER | The ranks of the Munster Police Department recently grew as three new officers were sworn in at a Town Council meeting.

Clerk-Treasurer David Shafer administered the oath of office to Joel R. Barnes, Spencer T. Lemmons and Tyler M. Niven. Police Chief Steve Scheckel presented each man with his badge during the swearing-in ceremony attended by family members and friends.

Barnes, 26, is a Highland resident and a 2005 Munster High School graduate.

Hobart native Lemmons is 23 and graduated from Hobart High School in 2008.

Niven, 23, of Lansing, was home schooled and recently received his associate degree in criminal justice from Prairie State College in Chicago Heights.

“It’s an exciting day when we can increase our police force. They come at a good time,” Scheckel said.

Shafer told the new officers that they now form a bond with “all the officers who came before you and come after you. In the future, you may find yourselves in dangerous situations, but the citizens of Munster have put their faith in you that you will do the right thing.”

A fourth new police officer will be sworn in at a later date, Scheckel said.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Munster Tab Promo Banner

About Munster

Town of Munster

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321

Police Department

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321
Non-emergency 219.836.6600

Fire Department

1005 Ridge Road Munster, IN 46321
Non-emergency 219.836.6960

School Town of Munster

8616 Columbia Ave
Phone: 219.836.9111

Latest Local Offers