Times staffers win 8 awards in IAPME contest

2013-05-11T20:45:00Z 2013-05-11T23:06:06Z Times staffers win 8 awards in IAPME contestTimes Staff nwitimes.com
May 11, 2013 8:45 pm  • 

INDIANAPOLIS | Times staff members earned eight state awards Saturday in the Indiana Associated Press Media Editors Newswriting Contest.

The winners were:

• Reporter Al Hamnik, first place in deadline sports reporting for "Not horsin' around."

• Editorial Page Editor Doug Ross, first place in headline writing.

• Page Designer Deborah Hile, first place in use of graphics for "Where local food deserts are."

• Hile, Jennifer Berta and Diane Cunningham, second place in page one makeup for "1,000 days later."

• Reporters Steve Hanlon and Lindsay Machak, second place in deadline news reporting for "C.P. schools, ex-coach sued."

• Porter County Editor John Scheibel and reporters Jeff Burton, Bob Kasarda and Joyce Russell, third place in deadline news reporting for "Gunman dead."

• Reporter Marisa Kwiatkowski, third place in First Amendment/community affairs for "A cry for help; Children in Peril."

• Sports Editor Courtney Linehan, third place in nondeadline sports reporting for "For love and the game."

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results