La Porte County high school students attend leadership training

2013-03-26T16:44:00Z 2013-03-26T17:01:09Z La Porte County high school students attend leadership trainingContributed by Monica L. Komasinski Executive Director Leadership LaPorte County

LAPORTE | Leadership La Porte County recently completed its 18th annual leadership training program with more than 30 local high school students participating from each school in La Porte County. Three all-day sessions were held at different locations around the county---Purdue North Central,the County Complex, and Cummings Lodge. Facilitators for the seminars were Dick Reel, Jim Jessup, and Leadership Executive Director, Monica Komasinski. Six students from last year’s class served as student leaders. They were: Andrew Berger, Jessica Bruder, Savannah Little, Samuel Polchlopek, Paige Pope and Theresa Saenz. The program was funded by a community grant from the Unity Foundation.

The students practiced leadership skills such as communication, problem solving, team building, collaboration, and decision-making. At the opening session they did a personality assessment in order to better understand group dynamics. At the County Complex the group toured the County Jail and interviewed a panel of offenders. The student leaders facilitated many discussions on current youth issues. The graduation speakers were Gerrie Grott who spoke to the group on overcoming any odds to become a community leader, and Sonshine Troche who spoke about being a power for good. Superintendents Dr. Barbara Eason-Watkins (Michigan City Area Schools) and Dr. Glade Montgomery (LaPorte Community School Corporation) also held a question and answer session with students. Each graduate received a certificate and a specially designed tee shirt. Next year’s student leaders were chosen. They are Jessica-Lena Bohlin, Carter Brown, Nolin Bruns, Stephanie Espar, Justin Kiel, Rianna Sass and Kristen Thomas.

For more information about Leadership La Porte County or its youth programs, contact Executive Director, Monica Komasinski at 219-325-8223 or by email at

First Last School

Allison Back Marquette

Johnna Belkiewitz LaPorte

Alexa Blanton LaPorte

Jessica-Lena Bohlin LaPorte

Carter Brown South Central

Nolin Bruns Westville

Madison Chambers LaCrosse

Ryan Citron New Prairie

Chase Clarkson Michigan City

Natalia Cody Westville

William Connelly Marquette

Naomi Culver LaCrosse

Stephanie Espar Marquette

Jacob Fargo LaPorte

Abigail Gibbs South Central

Olivia Glowacki Michigan City

Justin Kiel LaCrosse

Kayla Killingbeck South Central

Elena Lancioni LaPorte

Orion Neal Westville

Sydney Payne South Central

Amanda Risk LaCrosse

Megan Sager Westville

Riana Sass New Prairie

Ian Smith Marquette

Todd Suttor New Prairie

Austin Swistek Westville

Kristen Thomas Michigan City

Emma Unger New Prairie

Marcus Walker South Central

Samuel Welch Michigan City


Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About LaPorte

Mayor's Office

801 Michigan Avenue La Porte, IN 46350

Police Department

1206 Michigan Avenue La Porte, IN 46350

Fire Department

809 West 18th St. La Porte, IN 46350
219.362.3456 or 219.362.8417

Parks and Recreation

250 Pine Lake Avenue La Porte, IN 46350

La Porte Community School Corporation

1921 "A" Street, La Porte, IN 46350
Phone: 219.362.7056

Featured Businesses