Local students receive $57,570 in financial assistance from IU Health LaPorte entities

2014-06-25T00:00:00Z Local students receive $57,570 in financial assistance from IU Health LaPorte entitiesTimes Staff nwitimes.com
June 25, 2014 12:00 am  • 

LAPORTE | Three Indiana University Health LaPorte entities awarded 37 local students a total of $57,750 in financial assistance toward their pursuit of careers in health sciences.

Since 1983, The La Porte Hospital Foundation, the LaPorte Hospital Auxiliary, and IU Health La Porte Hospital have presented awards to encourage students to pursue healthcare careers or further their education in existing careers, and to help retain best people to provide healthcare services in our communities.

“Investing in education and our students is a profound way to be proactive in building healthy communities. These awards are a result of our corporate stewardship, but more so of the thoughtful gifts of individuals and Foundation members, our physician community, and our dedicated auxiliary members who truly care about the future of our students and community,” said G. Thor Thordarson, president and CEO of IU Health La Porte Hospital.

La Porte Hospital Auxiliary Scholarships

First Year Recipients: Tyler Baker, Johnna Belkiwitz, Jordann Frasure, Lars Henderson, Olivia Jongkind, Sarah Kosinski, Sierra LaFreniere, Mariah Micallef, Joshua Noll, Danielle Szymkowski, Hannah Walters.

Renewal Recipients: Emily Henrich, Gabriela Mazur, Izabela Mazur, Julie Michiaels- Padgett, Shellena Pajor, Stephanie VanSickle, Kayla Wurtser

Herald and Marcy Bowen Scholarship: Kayla Killingbeck

The Friend of Auxiliary Scholarship: Kaitlin Thomas

La Porte Hospital Foundation Scholarships

Rumely Award: Tonya Mostello

Magnuson Scholarships: Janeen Arnett, Jill Blair, Rebecca Ehrick

Foundation Scholarships: Daniel Cole, Heather Horne, Rebecca Howard, Jenna Burke, Gina Schrader, Andrew Taschler, Lane Van Sickle

Bilingual Award: Austre Medina

Richard M. Sisson Scholarship: Elizabeth Wilson

Siefker Scholarship: Behdad Tahayori

Walter Hrankaj scholarship: Kaitlyn Betz

Kepler Award: Rachel Macias

IU Health La Porte Hospital Scholarships

Critical Occupation Award: Charlotte Schrader

Physician’s Legacy Award: Katie Byrd

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About LaPorte

Mayor's Office

801 Michigan Avenue La Porte, IN 46350

Police Department

1206 Michigan Avenue La Porte, IN 46350

Fire Department

809 West 18th St. La Porte, IN 46350
219.362.3456 or 219.362.8417

Parks and Recreation

250 Pine Lake Avenue La Porte, IN 46350

La Porte Community School Corporation

1921 "A" Street, La Porte, IN 46350
Phone: 219.362.7056

Featured Businesses