Partners for Clean Air awards presented

2014-05-15T00:00:00Z Partners for Clean Air awards presentedTimes Staff Times Staff
May 15, 2014 12:00 am  • 

The Partners for Clean Air presented four awards during a PCA luncheon.

The Municipal Award went to LaPorte County government, with Commissioner Willie Milsap accepting the award.

The Industrial Award went to Arcelor Mittal and Kevin Doyle.

The Business Award went to NIPSCO, with Jennifer Miller accepting.

The Bike Award went to Dave Wolfe.

The PCA Steering Committee is responsible for the selection of the award winners. Nominations are accepted throughout the year by the committee from anyone wanting to be recognized for their efforts to protect the air in Northwest Indiana or knowing of someone that should be recognized for their efforts. During the month of January, the selection is made by all committee members placing their votes for each category.

All awards were presented to the winners for the extraordinary actions they have taken to help protect the air in NWI through voluntary actions. A fifth award was presented to Jim Alexander for his dedication to Partners during the many years that he worked for US Steel. Alexander retired from US Steel last year and has gone to work for NIPSCO, but he continues to promote the Partners program through his belief that we all need to work together to protect the air in NWI, through voluntary actions.

US Steel has helped get the Partners program off the ground when it first began. US Steel continues to be a proponent of the Partners Program along with other major players such as NIPSCO, Arcellor Mittal in both East Chicago and Burns Harbor, among others.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



Do you agree with The Times Editorial Board's endorsements in statewide races?

View Results