Bridge players welcome in new year

Bridge players celebrate New Year's Day at the Elks Lodge in Highland.


The biggest bridge game of the year is the celebration of a new year on Jan. 1. This year it drew 17 tables of party-going players, where 38 of the 68 players (who are always trying to improve their game) earned masterpoints.

The top 50 players for December from the Lake and Porter County duplicate bridge clubs include: Lou Nimnicht, Zafar Khan, Yuan Hsu, Alfred Simmons, Barbara Graegin, Barbara Walczak, Ruth Westberg, Joseph Chin, Trudi McKamey, Rosietta Brown, Indra Gupta, Carolyn Potasnik, James Angell, Steven Watson, Wayne Carpenter, Dave Bigler, Carol Miller, Laverne Niksch, Edmond d'Ouville, John Teshima, James O'Connell, Alan Yngve, Mary Kocevar, Daryl Fraley, John Goring, Robert Porter, Terry Bauer, George Roeper, Dolores Marshall, Patricia Mikuta, Marilyn Ginzel, Alan Filler, Arlyne Filler, Helen Miller, Conrad Staudacher, Barbara Lawson, Norman Szewczyk, Anthony Gillian, Lynne Kostopoulos, Gale Osgerby, Anne Murphy, Jan Summers, Martha Harris, Daniel Taylor, Robert Ferguson, Roger Sokol, Dorothy Hart, Hilda Connor, George Goewey and Mary Schumm.

Reporting like this is brought to you by a staff of experienced local journalists committed to telling the stories of your community. Support from subscribers is vital to continue our mission.


The Times Media Company is dedicated to improving the quality of life in Northwest Indiana, through local news, information, service initiatives and community partnerships.