Foundation awards grants to classroom teachers

2013-05-26T00:00:00Z Foundation awards grants to classroom teachersJoyce Russell, (219) 762-1397, ext. 2222

PORTAGE | Seven classroom programs will receive a boost thanks to the Portage Township Education Foundation.

Foundation board members Stephanie Crook and Shannon Pierce announced the recipients of the foundation's spring grant cycle this past week at a Portage Township School Board meeting.

Crook told the board that the foundation began in 2006 on a $3,000 donation and has since awarded about $55,000 in grants to classroom teachers for programs. The foundation hosts fundraising events to provide the money for the grants.

This cycle's grants totaled $7,936. Grant recipients this spring are:

• Debora Porter, for creation of a district-wide elementary honors choir for fourth and fifth grade students, $1,200.

• Dessa Kelley and Sherrie Biggs from Fegely Middle School, for Exploring Biodiversy in Our Backyard State Park program, $848.

• Lois Chalmers-MacMillan of Portage High School, for Real Care Baby Simulator Project, $1,279.

• Lisa Norman and Mindy Malaski from Fegely Middle School, for Connecting to History project, $1,108.

• Shannon Sobeck, Lenora Ramian, Lisa Norman and Mindy Malaski, Fegely Middle School, for PBIS: Safe and Civil Schools program, $1,500.

• Theresa Hadenfelt and Derek Hart of Fegely Middle School for Write On! program, $1,499.

• Joanne Lehmann and Deb Seeley, Fegely Middle School for Construct and Communicate Camp, $500.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Portage

City Hall
6070 W. Central Ave. Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-5425

Police Department
2693 Irving Street Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-3122

Fire Department
3401 Swanson Rd Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-7404

Portage Township Schools Administration Center
6240 U.S. Highway 6 Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-6511

Porter County Public Library
2665 Irving Street Portage, IN 46368
(219) 763-1508