Portage Outstanding Young Man chosen tonight

2014-02-08T00:00:00Z Portage Outstanding Young Man chosen tonightTimes Staff nwitimes.com
February 08, 2014 12:00 am  • 

PORTAGE | Twenty-nine Portage High School senior boys will compete tonight in the annual Outstanding Young Man competition.

The event begins at 7:30 p.m. at Portage High School East auditorium. Tickets are $10 at the door and the money goes to the OYM scholarship fund.

The young men will be competing for scholarships and other prizes in the contest. Judging will be based on academic achievement, a physical segment, questions from of a five-judge panel and how they look as they strut on stage in business casual attire and tuxedos.

The 2013 OYM, Eric Mesarch, will return and Portage Police Chief Troy Williams will host the event.

The competition began 23 years ago by former high school teacher Joe Stevens as the male answer to the then Portage Junior Miss program.

Competing this year are Dom Guzzino, John Fannin, Xavier Gilliam, Rodney Neal II, Collin Graber, Iniko Dixon, Luke Foster Hayden, Christopher Ticen, Andrew William Hayden, John Whitney, Brandon Crosby, Christopher Perry, Tep Junyanid, Matt Bliss, Aiden Fletcher, Thomas Janes, Jordan Trent, Louis Coleman, Pat Sobkowski, Mike Sutkowski, Blake Logsdon, Cody Kupiec, Chris Klenk, Zachary Chandler, Noah Volk, Luke Kizer, Michael Lattanzi, David Clegg and Mason Hooper.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Portage

City Hall
6070 W. Central Ave. Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-5425

Police Department
2693 Irving Street Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-3122

Fire Department
3401 Swanson Rd Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-7404

Portage Township Schools Administration Center
6240 U.S. Highway 6 Portage, IN 46368
(219) 762-6511

Porter County Public Library
2665 Irving Street Portage, IN 46368
(219) 763-1508