St. John police chief selected to lead crime task force panel

2013-05-03T21:15:00Z 2013-05-03T22:40:05Z St. John police chief selected to lead crime task force panelTimes Staff
May 03, 2013 9:15 pm  • 

St. John Police Chief Fred Frego was selected Friday to be president of the Northwest Indiana Major Crimes Task Force executive board.

Others elected to the board were NICTD Transit Police Chief Robert Byrd, vice president; Griffith Police Chief Greg Mance, treasurer; and Highland Police Chief Pete Hojnicki, secretary. Dyer police Sgt. Donald Foley was named the new task force commander.

Created in 2006, the Major Crimes Task Force is made up of 50 detectives from 24 Lake and Porter county departments. The task force responds when called to investigate homicides, serial rapes, arsons and nonparental child abductions. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, FBI and Lake County High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area task force provide investigative support.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



Should Lake County ask the attorney general's office to mediate in the E-911 consolidation dispute?

View Results