Household hazardous waste collection event scheduled

2013-07-14T00:00:00Z Household hazardous waste collection event scheduledTimes Staff
July 14, 2013 12:00 am  • 

PORTAGE | The Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County will help Porter County residents safely dispose of their old pesticides, gasoline, CFLs and other products that contain corrosive, toxic, ignitable or reactive ingredients by sponsoring the household hazardous waste collection event scheduled from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Aug. 10 at Portage High School, 6450 U.S. 6.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission will be on hand to present new environmentally friendly 2.5-gallon gas cans to residents who bring in their old gas cans for disposal at the collection. Limit one new gas can per vehicle/family, while supplies last.

HHW items accepted at this collection event include aerosols, anti-freeze, oil, batteries (household and automotive), corrosives, prescription medications, mercury containing products (fluorescent tubes, CFLs, thermometers, thermostats, etc.), oil-based and latex paint, thinners and solvents, pesticides and other poisons, diesel fuel, gasoline, kerosene, other flammable liquids and ammunition.

Explosives, asbestos, grill propane cylinders, containers larger than 30 gallons, commercial hazardous waste, controlled substances and radioactive materials, such as smoke detectors, will not be accepted.

Unused prescription medications are also accepted anytime at the following police departments: 55 S. Washington St., Valparaiso; 790 Broadway, Chesterton; 2693 Irving St. Portage; 106 East Sigler St., Hebron (only available Mondays through Fridays, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.) -- no liquids or metal nasal spray bottles; and Porter, 50 Francis St. -- no liquids or liquid capsules.

Fluorescent tube lights and CFLs can be recycled at either Porter County public compost site: Valparaiso, 2150 W. Lincolnway, Mondays through Fridays, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.; Boone Grove, 546 S. 400 W., Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, noon-5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

The City of Hobart accepts latex paint donations from Porter County residents at its Department of Public Works site, 340 S. Shelby St., Mondays through Fridays, between 7 a.m. and 2:45 p.m.; and Saturdays, between 8 and 11:45 a.m.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Valparaiso

City of Valparaiso
166 Lincolnway Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 462-1161

Police Department
355 S. Washington St. Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 462-2135

Fire Department
2605 Cumberland Drive Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 462-8325

Parks & Recreation
3210 North Campbell Street Valparaiso, IN 46385
(219) 462-5144

Valparaiso Community Schools
3801 N. Campbell St. Valparaiso, IN 46385
(219) 531-3000