NWI students shine at Indiana Academic All-Stars

2014-04-19T00:00:00Z NWI students shine at Indiana Academic All-StarsTimes Staff nwitimes.com
April 19, 2014 12:00 am  • 

INDIANAPOLIS | Students and a teacher from Northwest Indiana were recognized Wednesday for their achievement in the classroom.

Forty high school seniors from Indiana were named 2014 Indiana Academic All-Stars, a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals.

They were honored at a luncheon at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Indianapolis. Another 36 students were recognized as Academic All-Star Regional Honorees.

The students were selected from a field of 253 outstanding nominees from Indiana’s private and public accredited schools.

Academic All-Star distinction recognizes seniors who excel in the classroom first and foremost, but who also are actively involved in their schools and communities, and take on leadership roles in those activities, according to IASP.

Each nominated student submits an essay recognizing his or her most influential educator. Earlham College recognized Hobart High School teacher Colin May with the Social Sciences Distinguished Teacher award. She was nominated by Indiana Academic All-Star Mikayla Small. May received a $1,000 award on Wednesday.

Student awards were presented by Indiana University Bloomington, Purdue University, and the Indiana Association of School Principals. IU Bloomington recognized Regional Academic All-Stars Katherine Clemens, Hebron High School, and presented her a $500 scholarship.

Schools may nominate one senior for consideration as an Indiana Academic All-Star. From these nominees, a selection committee chose the Regional winners (representing five regions in Indiana) and the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars.

Selection of the school’s nominee is based upon the following considerations based on SAT and ACT scores, grade-point average and extracurricular activities.

Indiana Academic All-Stars from Northwest Indiana include Josh Bottos of Lowell High School,Renee Brigham of Crown Point High School and Haley Sorrells of Valparaiso High School.

The program is produced by the Indiana Association of School Principals, with support provided by Earlham College, Franklin College, Marian University, Indiana University Bloomington, and Purdue University, along with corporate partners BMO Harris Bank, Herff Jones, IndyStar.com, and Inter-State Studios.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About Valparaiso

City of Valparaiso
166 Lincolnway Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 462-1161

Police Department
355 S. Washington St. Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 462-2135

Fire Department
2605 Cumberland Drive Valparaiso, IN 46383
(219) 462-8325

Parks & Recreation
3210 North Campbell Street Valparaiso, IN 46385
(219) 462-5144

Valparaiso Community Schools
3801 N. Campbell St. Valparaiso, IN 46385
(219) 531-3000