GUEST COMMENTARY: Nominate author, encourage Indiana’s literary heritage

2013-03-21T01:04:00Z GUEST COMMENTARY: Nominate author, encourage Indiana’s literary heritageBy Danny R. Dean
March 21, 2013 1:04 am  • 

There’s nothing quite like the comfort of a good book, and Hoosiers have benefited from Indiana’s many outstanding authors over the decades – from Kurt Vonnegut to Booth Tarkington to James Whitcomb Riley. But even today, the literary landscape of Indiana remains just as dynamic and noteworthy on both local and national levels.

Many writers enter the world of books through the doors of public libraries. So it is certainly fitting that The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation once again sheds light on excellence in our midst. Ours is a state rich in literary heritage with an even brighter literary future, celebrated by the annual Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award.

Established by a generous grant from The Glick Fund and now in its fifth year, the Indiana Authors Award is accepting nominations. Friday is the deadline to nominate your favorite author.

Indiana Authors Award-winning writers earn cash prizes ranging from $5,000 to $10,000. Also, each of the three winning authors in the National, Regional and Emerging Author categories chooses an Indiana public library to receive a grant of $2,500 from the Library Foundation.

Since its inception in 2009, four fantastic authors with Indiana roots have been chosen as National Indiana Author Award recipients: James Alexander Thom (2009), Scott Russell Sanders (2010), Margaret McMullan (2011) and John Green (2012).

Being nominated by readers from across the state and the nation is an incredible honor. But it wouldn't have happened without book lovers nominating those they believe represent the pinnacle of literary excellence.

Indiana’s literary future is more promising than ever. With the help of your nominations, the Library Foundation will continue to highlight talented Hoosier authors for years to come.

Danny R. Dean is president of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. The opinions are the writer's.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses

Submit a Letter to Editor

We welcome letters from readers on any issue of public interest, and make every effort to publish as many as we can and in a timely manner. The Times will publish only one letter a month from a writer, and be sure to include your name, address and a telephone number for verification. Letters should be 150 words or less. They will be edited.

Letters may be submitted:
  • Via our submission form.
  • Via e-mail.
  • Via fax: (219) 933-3249 or (219) 465-7298
  • Via mail or by hand to our offices:
    • 601 45th Ave., Munster, IN 46321
    • 2080 N. Main St., Crown Point, IN 46307
    • 1111 Glendale Blvd., Valparaiso, IN 46383
    • 3410 Delta Dr., Portage, IN 46368
    • Please mark envelopes with "Attn: Letters"


Email Editorial Page Editor Doug Ross or call (219) 548-4360 or (219) 933-3357



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results