Eugene M. Guernsey

2011-05-01T00:00:00Z 2011-05-01T01:00:11Z Eugene M. Guernsey nwitimes.com
May 01, 2011 12:00 am

Eugene M Guernsey

Merrillville

Democrat

Office sought: Merrillville clerk-treasurer

Political experience: Four years as clerk-treasurer; reduced deficit; extended office hours; implemented passport acceptance with free pictures to Merrillville residents; created Seniors Help program along with scheduling AARP tax preparation appointments.

What prompted your decision to seek this office?: I'm a retired Merrillville Police Officer and have lived in Merrillville for more than 40 years and really care for this community. I truly believe I can make the tough decisions to reduce the deficit by working with the Town Council.

Top three goals:

1. Help to bring more business to help reduce the homeowner's property tax. I personally visited the two new businesses, Amish Marketplace in Shipshewana and Modern Drop Forge in Blue Island.

2. Work closer with surrounding communities to try and find some large cost-cutting venues to purchase petroleum, salt and insurance.

3. Promote more senior programs. I'm looking to start up a help program for our servicemen who need assistance.

Why should voters choose you?: I have been the clerk-treasurer for the past four years, and I'm running on my accomplishments. I'm an owner and operator of Genos Storage, a Navy veteran, a retired Merrillville police officer and served as a police training officer in Iraq and Kosovo.

What specific steps will you take to help your community cope with declining tax revenues?: Budget reduction through attrition. Initiate new funds through programs such as passport services. Reduce spending where needed.

What else would you like to tell us?: Endorsed by the Northwestern Indiana Building and Construction Trades Council. 

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times