Let's take the mystery out of the judicial nominating panel

2013-08-04T00:00:00Z Let's take the mystery out of the judicial nominating panel nwitimes.com
August 04, 2013 12:00 am

A series of recent articles have appeared in this newspaper that involve the mysterious LCJNC (Lake County Judicial Nominating Commission), whose nine members are never named except for its chairman, Indiana Supreme Court Justice Robert Rucker.

There is no valid reason why the names of the other eight members of the LCJNC are kept secret.

LCJNC is not a “Star Chamber” or FISA Court.

The four attorneys on the LCJNC are Cordell Funk, William Padula, Paul Stracci and Richard Wolter. Obviously, all four lawyers are men. No women.

These are the non-lawyer members of the Judicial Nominating Commission:

* Tavis Grant, appointed by Roosevelt Allen (District 1)

* Bobbi Costa, appointed by Gerry Scheub (District 2)

* Janet Moran, appointed by Fran Dupey (District 3)

* Tom Dabertin, jointly appointed by all three commissioners

These are the facts. You decide.

- Rick Volbrecht, Highland

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses

Submit a Letter to Editor

We welcome letters from readers on any issue of public interest, and make every effort to publish as many as we can and in a timely manner. The Times will publish only one letter a month from a writer, and be sure to include your name, address and a telephone number for verification. Letters should be 150 words or less. They will be edited.

Letters may be submitted:
  • Via our submission form.
  • Via e-mail.
  • Via fax: (219) 933-3249 or (219) 465-7298
  • Via mail or by hand to our offices:
    • 601 45th Ave., Munster, IN 46321
    • 2080 N. Main St., Crown Point, IN 46307
    • 1111 Glendale Blvd., Valparaiso, IN 46383
    • 3410 Delta Dr., Portage, IN 46368
    • Please mark envelopes with "Attn: Letters"


Email Editorial Page Editor Doug Ross or call (219) 548-4360 or (219) 933-3357



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results