HEALTH BRIEFS: Cancer research foundation seeks photo entries

2013-01-29T00:00:00Z HEALTH BRIEFS: Cancer research foundation seeks photo entriesTimes Staff
January 29, 2013 12:00 am  • 

MUNSTER | The Community Cancer Research Foundation is seeking entries in the Hope Soars photo contest.

Photographers are invited to submit photos that reflect the theme and join in the fight against cancer at the same time. Winning entries will be published in a series of note cards that benefit the work of the Community Cancer Research Foundation and its support program, the Cancer Resource Centre in Munster.

Photos must be emailed to by Friday, including the photographer's full name, city and title of the photo. Each person may submit up to three photographs with a minimum resolution of 5MB. Winners will be notified by March 1. Visit for official rules.

Luncheon deadline approaching for LCAC

SCHERERVILLE | The reservation deadline is approaching for the Feb. 8 Lake County Advancement Committee monthly meeting.

The luncheon will feature guest speakers Lisa Hopp and Leslie Rittenmeyer from the Indiana Center for Evidence-based Nursing Practice at Purdue University Calumet School of Nursing, discussing "The Evidence: Your Health and You."  

Evidence-based practice is an international movement that focuses on determining what works, what patients want and how they can share in decisions about their health.

For reservations, email Caitlin Mills-Groninger at or call (219) 473-4325 by Monday. The cost is $20 per person and will be collected at the door. Only cash and checks will be accepted.

Advisory board reorganizes 

KNOX | The Starke County Community Advisory Board of Indiana University Health Starke Hospital re-organized at its monthly meeting Jan. 14.

Sandy Hansen was elected president of the board with Jerry Wilson and Martin Bedrock selected for the vice president and secretary positions.

Bedrock and Ted Hayes were sworn in for four-year terms. Bedrock completed the unexpired term of Ed Hasnerl, and Hayes completed the unexpired term of Dr. Thomas Browne.

Bedrock and Hayes were re-appointed by the Starke County Board of Commissioners. Hansen succeeded Ben Bennett as president. Other members of the board are Dorothy Bau and Dr. Walter Fritz.

Group honors C.P. pharmacist 

CROWN POINT | The Indiana Pharmacists Alliance’s community pharmacy academy recently awarded Crown Point pharmacist Joseph Allegretti with the Joseph E. McSoley Pharmacist of the Year award for outstanding service to the profession and community.

Allegretti is president emeritus of Laser Pharmaceuticals LLC. He served as past president and COO at Laser, and as the secretary/treasurer of the Ribordy Drug Store chain for more than 13 years.

He serves on the Crown Point Community Foundation as chairman, Franciscan St. Anthony Health hospital in Crown Point-Northwest Indiana Regional Board of Directors, the Franciscan St. Anthony Health hospital in Crown Point Health Network Board of Managers, the Franciscan St. Anthony Health hospital in Crown Point Community Council and the Branded Pharmaceutical Association as vice president and director. 

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

In This Issue