Annie Ostojic

Annie Ostojic, of Munster, poses with her Forbes "30 under 30" portrait in her home.

Kale Wilk, The Times

Region pride is alive and well with the astounding feats of 15-year-old Annie Ostojic, of Munster.

We frequently hail the academic or athletic successes of Region schoolchildren.

But Ostojic was just recognized on a list so prestigious that geniuses, the best of the best business gurus and world leaders frequently fail to make the cut.

Ostojic recently learned she'll be listed on Forbes Magazine's "30 under 30" list, joining more than 4,000 past pioneers, natural talents and innovators, including basketball's LeBron James and Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg.

In an era in which our educational systems are realizing the need for greater STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) instruction, Ostojic made this prominent list for all the right reasons.

She was named in the energy category as an innovator and student researcher.

Two of her personal inventions — a new microwave design and an indoor solar-powered recharger for hearing aid batteries — are what garnered Forbes' attention.

It's not her first time in the spotlight of greatness.

In 2015, then-13-year-old Ostojic was named the top middle school science student in the nation for her microwave design. She won the $25,000 Samueli Foundation Prize.

And in the Broadcom Masters science competition in California's Silicon Valley, Ostojic was selected from a field of more than 2,200 students in the nation by a panel of scientists.

Northwest Indiana leaders and educators should be rolling out the red carpet for Ostojic for reaching such heights at so young an age and embodying the best of our educational principles.

Congratulations Annie. The Region is exceptionally proud of your incredible accomplishments.

Subcribe to the Times

Reporting like this is brought to you by a staff of experienced local journalists committed to telling the stories of your community.
Support from subscribers is vital to continue our mission.

Become a subscriber

Thank you for being a loyal subsciber

Your contribution makes our mission possible.


Members of The Times Editorial Board are Publisher Christopher T. White, Editorial Page Editor Marc Chase, Editor Bob Heisse, Politics/History Editor Doug Ross and Managing Editor Erin Orr.