Showing: 1-20 of 561


Edgewater will take gala guests to a "Chicago Speakeasy"

MERRILLVILLE | Edgewater Behavioral Health System's 13th annual gala, "Celebrating 40 Years," will be held from 6 to 11:30 p.m. Friday in the Celebrity West Ballroom at the Radisson Hotel at the Star Plaza, 800 E. 81st Ave.

October 16, 2014 12:00 am
NIPSCO gives Luminary Awards to area 'shining beacons'

NIPSCO gives Luminary Awards to area 'shining beacons'

"Shining beacons" of community service were honored by NIPSCO at a Thursday night presentation of the company’s Luminary Awards.

September 26, 2014 3:48 pm Photos


One Region Awards presentation

One Region Awards presentation

Danita Johnson Hughes presents this year's One Region Awards recipients.

September 10, 2014 4:37 pm
Wellman honored with state's highest tourism award

Wellman honored with state's highest tourism award

INDIANAPOLIS | A man whose name is synonymous with Northwest Indiana's travel and hospitality industry was awarded the state's highest tourism honor Friday.

August 15, 2014 3:16 pm
Cars, trucks, cycles and a UFO cruise to annual show

Cars, trucks, cycles and a UFO cruise to annual show

CEDAR LAKE | This year’s Cedar Lake Summerfest Charity Car, Truck and Cycle Show featured 115 vehicles, including a flying saucer driven from Indianapolis.

August 13, 2014 12:00 am Photos


Portage F.D. honors 2 with Medal of Valor

Portage | Two Portage firefighters received an honor Saturday that has been awarded only once before in the 15-year awards history of the Portage Fire Department.

June 14, 2014 1:20 pm

Times staffers win journalism awards in Indy, Chicago

Staff members of The Times received recognition in Chicago and Indianapolis on Saturday, including five Lisagor Awards from the Chicago Headline Club and 10 awards from the Society of Professional Journalists.

May 02, 2014 10:00 am

The Times honored at Associated Press awards event

Times staffers brought home several awards in the Indiana Associated Press Media Editors Association News and Photo contest.

April 25, 2014 8:30 pm
Five Northwest Indiana business leaders enshrined in Hall of Fame

Five Northwest Indiana business leaders enshrined in Hall of Fame

In business as in sports, there are players and then there are the Hall of Famers who rarely come along.

March 08, 2014 11:00 pm Photos


Excalibur staff honored at state journalism convention

Excalibur staff honored at state journalism convention

CROWN POINT | The Excalibur yearbook staff from Crown Point High School recently won the Division III Harvey Award, the highest honor in the state given by the Indiana High School Press Association.

March 02, 2014 12:00 am


Staff Sgt. Mindo D. Estrella, platoon commander, 2nd Battalion, 4th Marine Regiment, shakes hands with Medal of Honor recipient, retired Col. Jay R. Vargas, after Estrella received the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal during an award ceremony at Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton, Calif…

February 26, 2014 2:17 pm

SSCVA mobile site receives international award

HAMMOND | The South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority's redesigned mobile Web site recently won a gold award in an international competition.

November 26, 2013 9:09 am
Retired Lowell AD named to NIAAA Hall of Fame

Retired Lowell AD named to NIAAA Hall of Fame

Retired Lowell High School Athletic Director Don Bales has been selected as one of five inductees in the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association's Hall of Fame class for 2013.

November 22, 2013 11:00 am

CP Swim Club awards sumer season winners

CROWN POINT | The Crown Point Swim Club would like to congratulate its 2013 Summer Season Award winners. Each season, CPSC awards several of its swimmers for high achievements both in and out of the pool.

September 25, 2013 5:27 pm

Seventh annual Footlight Players awrads announced

MICHIGAN CITY | The Footlight Players are proud to announce the winners of the seventh annual Footlight Players Awards, honoring the best performances on and off the stage during our 2012-13 season.

August 19, 2013 5:45 pm
Knights earn state honors

Knights earn state honors

MERRILLVILLE | For the second consecutive year, both the Abraham Lincoln and Santa Maria Venegas assemblies of the Knights of Columbus boasted award winners at the Indiana State Knights of Columbus Convention.

July 31, 2013 12:00 am Photos


Indiana seeks poet laureate candidates

INDIANAPOLIS | The deadline to apply for a two-year appointment as Indiana's poet laureate is Thursday.

July 26, 2013 11:30 am Related

Three from region honored by state's American Legion

INDIANAPOLIS | A Hammond Boy Scout, Cedar Lake school principal and a state representative from Portage were honored this month by the Indiana Department of the American Legion.

July 20, 2013 6:30 pm

July 10 Deadline for Award Nominations

CHESTERTON | The Duneland Chamber of Commerce is currently seeking nominations for the Ashley’s Jewelry Duneland Distinguished Woman Award. The honor will be presented during the State of the Chamber Awards Luncheon, to be held on Wednesday, July 17 at Sand Creek Country Club. Nomination for…

July 03, 2013 1:58 pm
Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



Who do you support for Porter County commissioner?

View Results