Saturday's Indiana prep schedule

2014-01-31T21:30:00Z 2014-02-01T07:14:07Z Saturday's Indiana prep schedule
January 31, 2014 9:30 pm


Boys Basketball

Hammond Academy of Science and Technology at Gary Lighthouse, 2:30 p.m.

Wheeler at Marquette, 2:30 p.m.

Highland at Gavit, 3:30 p.m.

Clark at Culver Academy, 6:30 p.m.

West Central at Morgan Twp., 6:30 p.m.

LaPorte at Concord, 6:45 p.m.

Hammond Academy of Science and Technology at Covenant Christian, 7 p.m.

Michigan City at Bishop Noll, 7 p.m., WEFM-FM (95.9),

North Newton at River Forest, 7 p.m.

Boone Grove at Crown Point, 7:30 p.m.

Kankakee Valley at Portage, 7:30 p.m.

LaPorte LaLumiere at Roosevelt, 7:30 p.m.

Lowell at Lake Central, 7:30 p.m., WRTW-FM (90.5),,

Munster at Valparaiso, 7:30 p.m.

New Prairie at South Central, 7:30 p.m.

Rensselaer at Hebron, 7:30 p.m.

Bowman Academy at Coaching for Cancer Showcase at Chicago Orr

Girls Basketball

Gavit at North Newton, noon

North Judson at Hebron, 12:30 p.m.

South Central at Morgan Twp., ppd.

Whiting at Hanover Central, 12:30 p.m.

Hammond Academy of Science and Technology at Gary Lighthouse, 1 p.m.

Benton Central at Kankakee Valley, 1:30 p.m.

Boone Grove at Bishop Noll, 1:30 p.m.

LaCrosse at North White, 1:30 p.m.

Michigan City at Morton, 1:30 p.m.

Tipton at Rensselaer, 1:30 p.m.

Westville at Argos, 6:45 p.m.

Hobart at Lowell, 7:30 p.m.


Crown Point, LaPorte, Michigan City at Chesterton Invitational, 11 a.m.

Boone Grove, Hobart, Lowell at Merrillville Invite, 1 p.m.

Boys Swimming

Duneland Athletic Conference Meet at Chesterton, 9 a.m.

Northwest Crossroads Conference Meet at Munster, 10 a.m.


Calumet Sectional

When: 9 a.m. Saturday.

Participating schools: Calumet, Lew Wallace, West Side, Griffith, Highland, Hobart, Lake Station, Portage, River Forest.

Favorite: Portage.

Darkhorse: Hobart.

Wrestlers to watch: Calumet -- Alec Noworul (132), Doriante Bryant (138), Nick Fowler (182), Marshawn Manuel (285); West Side -- DeAnthony Hall (160); Griffith -- Jeremiah Reitz (106), Ben Stassing (160), Ryan Dunlap (182); Highland -- Ryne Kijurna (195); Hobart -- Brendan Black (120), Sergio Castellanos (126), Matt Burns (132), Scottie Sopko (170); Lake Station -- Jonah Shultz (220); Portage -- Tyler Joseph (106), Gaige Torres (120), Steven Lawrence (138), Travis Williams (220); River Forest -- Jose Zambrana (170), Robert Yanez (285).

Fast facts: Portage has won five consecutive sectional team championships and 20 in the last 22 seasons. ... The Indians sent 13 of 14 wrestlers to the regional in 2013. ... Joseph, Torres, Sopko and Yanez are returning individual sectional champs.

Crown Point Sectional

When: 9 a.m. Saturday.

Participating schools: Andrean, Boone Grove, Crown Point, Hanover Central, Hebron, Kankakee Valley, Lowell, Valparaiso, Wheeler.

Favorite: Crown Point.

Darkhorse: Hanover Central.

Wrestlers to watch: Crown Point -- Daylan Schurg (120), Zach Donaldson (132), Denton Schurg (145), Darden Schurg (152), Morgan Kral (195), Steven Potoskey (220); Hanover Central -- Isaac Cortez (106), Chris Ruiz (113), Adoko Neil (120), Stevan Micic (126), Evan Larsen (145), Tyler Scott (195); Kankakee Valley -- Tim Schoonveld (182), Alex Berdine (220); Lowell -- Colton Cummings (106), Jake Gross (132), Drew Hughes (138), Kenny Hughes (160), Isaac James (170); Valparaiso -- Austin Line (113), Ian Suttles (285).

Fast facts: Crown Point has won 11 titles in a row. ... Micic, Scott, both Hugheses, C.P.'s Josh Fuqua, Riley Akers, Darden Schurg, Kral and Potoskey are returning champions. ... Micic, Donaldson, both Hugheses and Kral are undefeated.

E.C. Central Sectional

When: 9 a.m. Saturday.

Participating schools: E.C. Central, Hammond, Bishop Noll, Clark, Gavit, Morton, Lake Central, Merrillville, Munster, Whiting.

Favorite: Merrillville.

Darkhorse: Lake Central.

Wrestlers to watch: E.C. Central -- Robert Rivera (195); Hammond -- Shamar Shields (220), Ronald Burnett (285); Bishop Noll -- George Sons (113), Jesus Loe (220); Clark -- Chris Diaz (120), Ismael Quintanilla (132), Maurice Dawkins (145), Kensha Funches (182); Gavit -- Frederick Taylor (126), Michael Maravilla (160); Lake Central -- Branden Truver (126), Jake Sebahar (145), Kody Christensen (152), Gelen Robinson (220); Morton -- Julian Miranda (106), Rickie Rodriguez (113), Ruben Rodriguez (120), Andy Key (170); Merrillville -- Mike Garza (113), Clarence Johnson (126), Jacob Covaciu (138), Isaac Rentas (145), Willie Armstrong (152), Matt Hollins (182), Shawn Streck (285); Munster -- Jason Crary (113), Rudy Magana (120).

Fast facts: Merrillville has won nine team sectional titles in a row. ... The Pirates won nine weight classes last season. ... Garza, Rickie Rodriguez, Covaciu, Christensen, Rentas, Armstrong, Robinson and Streck are returning individual sectional champs.

LaPorte Sectional

When: 9 a.m. Saturday.

Participating schools: Chesterton, Glenn, Knox, LaPorte, LaVille, Michigan City, New Prairie, North Judson.

Favorite: Chesterton.

Darkhorse: New Prairie.

Wrestlers to watch: Chesterton -- Jack Tolin (106), Sawyer Hallas (160), Alex Katsafaros (170), Connor Smiith (220); Knox -- Michael Sustaita (195); LaPorte -- Mike Eldridge (182), Landon Blackburn (285); New Prairie -- Chris Trent (113), Dalton Escobedo (160).

Fast facts: Chesterton is defending champion. ... Trent, Escobedo, Glenn's Austin Coach, James Frey and Adam Dodson, Chesterton's Mike Double, Eldridge and Sustaita are returning individual champions.

— Compiled by David Funk and Jim Peters

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Featured Businesses



How will the Bulls do this season?

View Results

NFL News