Scouting area girls tennis sectionals

2011-05-17T22:00:00Z 2012-05-19T06:57:04Z Scouting area girls tennis sectionals
May 17, 2011 10:00 pm

Crown Point Sectional


Hanover Central vs. Rensselaer, 4:15 p.m.


Kankakee Valley at Crown Point, 4:15 p.m.

Lowell vs. Hanover-Rensselaer winner, 4:15 p.m.

Championship, 6:30 p.m.

Favorite: Crown Point.

Darkhorse: Kankakee Valley.

Individuals to watch: Crown Point -- Kelly Gross, Sr., Gabby Touchette, Sr., Kelsey Ingelhart, Jr., Mackensie Shelley, So. Hanover Central -- Kim Reppa, Sr., Faith Elger, Jr., Brittany Thompson, Jr. Kankakee Valley -- Kayla Fieldhouse, Sr., Abbie Wilder, Sr., Abbey Hamstra, Jr., Jenn Anderson, Jr. Rensselaer -- Katie Phillips, Sr. Lowell -- Natalie Johnson, Sr., Mallory Swisher, Sr., Amber DeYoung, Sr., Chloe White, Jr.

Fast fact: Crown Point has won a 21 sectional championships, including 16 in a row.

E.C. Central Sectional


Whiting at E.C. Central, 4 p.m.

Bishop Noll vs. Hammond, 4 p.m.


Championship, 4 p.m.

Favorite: Whiting.

Darkhorse: Bishop Noll.

Individuals to watch: Whiting -- Megan Jakovich, Sr., Megan Kazmierski, Sr., Guadalupe Cornejo, Sr. E.C. Central -- Ashley Pabey, Jr., Cynthia Nunez, Sr. Hammond -- Angelica Rodriquez, Sr., Alejandra Martinez, Jr. Bishop Noll -- Malayna Zavsky, Sr., Stacy Krahn, Sr., Tate Hickey, Jr.

Fast fact: Whiting has been the defending champ for the last two years, and three of the last four.

Highland Sectional


Calumet vs. Highland, 4 p.m.

West Side vs. Griffith, 4 p.m.


Championship, 4 p.m.

Favorite: Highland.

Darkhorse: Griffith.

Individuals to watch: Highland -- Liz Quinn, Sr., Meredith Garcia, Jr., Nikki Goodeve, Jr., Aby Madrigal, So., Vany Madrigal So. Griffith -- Jessica Hermosillo, Sr., Lindsey Sopetti, Sr., Michelle Sopetti, Sr. Calumet -- Angelee Schuldt, Sr., Lyndsey DiGiacomo, Jr., Rachel Metheny, Jr., Tiffany Matuszczak, Jr. West Side -- Litney Gray, Sr., Crae Johnson, Fr., Erin Hightower, Jr.

Fast fact: The Times No. 2 Trojans have won 12 sectional titles total, seven of them in a row.

Hobart Sectional


Merrillville at Hobart, 4 p.m.

Boone Grove vs. Andrean, 4 p.m.


Championship, 4 p.m.

Favorite: Hobart.

Darkhorse: Andrean.

Individuals to watch: Merrillville -- Kelsey Sajdera, Sr., Lea Neligan, Sr., Morgan Lamb Sr. Andrean -- Candace Roberson, Sr., Gigi Gonzalez, Sr., Katie Anderson, Sr., Jocelyn Jayjack, Jr. Hobart -- Reena Childers, Sr., Stephanie Bachman, Sr., Jennifer Syjut. Boone Grove -- Allison Rice, Brittney Ziemniak, Kelsea Knight.

Fast fact: The Brickies have won the previous two sectional titles.

Lake Station Sectional


Clark vs. River Forest, 4:30 p.m.


Championship, Lake Station vs. Clark-River Forest winner, 4:30 p.m.

Favorite: Clark.

Darkhorse: River Forest.

Individuals to watch: River Forest -- Megan Davis, Sr. Lake Station -- Amber Dwyer, Jr., Kelsey Lemley, Jr. Clark -- Lily Villicana, Jr., Stephanie Perez, Jr., Stephanie Richards, So.

Fast fact: The Ingots have won three sectionals in a row, but the Pioneers defeated them earlier this year.

LaPorte Sectional

At Kesling Park


Michigan City vs. New Prairie, 4:30 p.m.

Marquette at LaPorte, 4:30 p.m.


Championship, 4:30 p.m.

Favorite: Michigan City.

Darkhorse: Marquette.

Individuals to watch: LaPorte -- Taylor Crider, Jr., Hillary Frye, Sr., Kristen Sanders, Sr. Michigan City -- Ashleigh Ellenwood, Sr., Brooke Foltz, Sr., Lauren Palmer, Sr. Marquette -- Katie Clancy, Sr., Mary Katherine Slattery, Sr. New Prairie -- Katie Garoutte, Sr.

Fast fact: Michigan City has won 14 titles, including 10 in a row.

Munster Sectional


Morton at Munster, 4 p.m.

Gavit vs. Lake Central, 4 p.m.


Championship, 4 p.m.

Favorite: Munster.

Darkhorse: Lake Central.

Individuals to watch: Munster -- Jessica Rooth, Fr., Paige Heuer, So., Christian Tavitas, Jr. Morton -- Mallory Coto, Briana Hernandez, Emily Pearson. Gavit -- Corinne Arroyo, Sr., Krystin Warden, Sr. Lake Central -- Lauren Ashenbrener, Sr., Ashley DeSantiago, Sr., Emma Harowski, Sr.

Fast fact: The Times No. 1 Mustangs have won 35 total sectionals, a state record. They have won 34 of those in a row.

Portage Sectional


Valparaiso vs. Wheeler, 4 p.m.

Chesterton at Portage, 4 p.m.


Championship, 4 p.m.

Favorite: Chesterton.

Darkhorse: Portage.

Individuals to watch: Chesterton -- Bobbi Modesto, Jr., Margaret Shinn, So. Portage -- Carly Bermes, Sr., Kacie McGuire, Jr. Valparaiso -- Alli Hauser, Sr., Lauren Kammerer, Sr., Caitlin Kennedy, Fr., Kelly Kennedy, Fr. Wheeler -- Stephanie Guernsey, Sr., Maggie Krause, Sr., Kaelyn Loftus, Sr.

Fast fact: The Trojans are the defending champions, and they have six total crowns. The Vikings lead this field with 19.


Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



Which team will win the World Series?

View Results

NFL News