Lowell's Jordan Jusevitch has been named to the Indiana Football Coaches Association Top 50 team.

The Red Devils defensive back, who is also one of the three finalists for Indiana Mr. Football, was the only Region player to make the list.

Northwest Indiana was well represented on the IFCA all-state teams.

Valparaiso defensive lineman Reece Staples and defensive back Michael Scarsella, Crown Point linebacker Caden Watson and Chesterton offensive lineman Alex Scott were chosen in Class 6A.

Michigan City had four selections in 5A: quarterback Michael McCullough, linebacker Christian Vasquez, defensive back Mason Kaletha and wide receiver Keyshawn McGill. LaPorte offensive lineman Jake Thode and running back Drayson Nespo and Munster offensive lineman Carl Adindu were also picked.

The 4A group included Lowell tight end Mitchell Wildman and wide receiver Jaeger Gill, Morton defensive lineman Joseph Wharton, Hobart defensive lineman Ryan Pisarski and Griffith linebacker Kadafi Coleman.

Boone Grove offensive lineman Ryan Dziewicki was named in 2A.

Local players tabbed junior all-state were Valparaiso linebacker Tyler Bukur (6A), LaPorte offensive lineman Brandon Seibert, Munster offensive lineman Anthony Moore, Michigan City linebacker Chase Triplett (5A), Lowell defensive lineman Chandler Austgen, Hobart defensive lineman Orion Yester (4A), Andrean defensive lineman Cameron Williams and kicker JJ Wadas (3A), Boone Grove offensive lineman Luke Wilkening and Whiting defensive back Nino Barbosa (2A).


Krol honored with IBCA/Subway award: Chesterton senior Courtney Krol was honored as the District 1 girls basketball player in the IBCA/Subway Player of the Week award for her efforts last week. Krol averaged 20.5 points for the unbeaten Trojans (8-0), with 18 points and seven rebounds against E.C. Central and 24 points against Michigan City.

Earning nominations for District 1 were: Cade Albers (Westville), Johnny Bernard (Merrillville), Trevor Braden (Morgan Township), Dustin Hudak (Lowell), James Hudson (Andrean), Donta’ Long (Lake Station), Dillan Mathes (Kouts), Justyn McClinton (Gavit), Brandon Newman (Valparaiso), Sahara Bee (Morgan Township), Sadie Leatherman (Kouts), Emma Nolan (Marquette Catholic) and Darlisha Reed (Clark).