Ryin Ott notched a double-double with 12 points and 11 rebounds Thursday to lead Times No. 5 LaPorte to a 46-38 girls basketball win over Elkhart Memorial.

Kayla Jones had 12 points and two steals for the Slicers (10-2), who picked up their eighth straight win. Janelle O'Neal chipped in seven points and snagged 14 rebounds. Riley Ott added seven points including a 7-of-8 mark from the free-throw line.

Whiting 45, Griffith 31: The Oilers (7-5, 3-1) forced 23 turnovers to pick up a Greater South Shore Conference win.

Ariel Esquivel had 13 points to lead the Panthers (2-9, 0-4).

Boys basketball

Valpo to play in tourney: Valparaiso will participate in the inaugural Champions of Character Classic Dec. 30 at Grace College.

The unbeaten Vikings will face Fishers (2-4) at 10 a.m. and Class 4A No. 7 Zionsville with Purdue and Butler target Isaiah Thompson at 6 p.m. Warsaw (2-5) is also in the field. Tickets are $10 per session.

Boys swimming

Lowell 120, Merrillville 63: Ethan Krucina (50 free, 100 fly) and Brenden Kinnis (100 breast, 200 free) both won twice for the Red Devils and also contributed to the first-place 200 medley and free relay teams.

Rory Browne chipped in on the winning relays and won the 100 free for Lowell.

Tyler Jasso won the 500 free for the Pirates and swam a leg of the victorious 400 free relay. Lex Mercer took first in the 100 back.

Girls volleyball

Wheeler needs a coach: Wheeler is seeking applications for head girls volleyball coach. Interested candidates should contact Randy Stelter at 219-759-2561, ext. 2237.

News and notes

LaPorte Hall of Fame induction ceremony to take place Jan.26: Ron Clindaniel, Chuck Ford, Lambert "Lamby" Lamberson and Jonell Pinkerton-McKenzie will be inducted in the Norman J. Hubner Athletic Hall of Fame on Jan. 26. The ceremony will take place between the LaPorte-Crown Point boys junior varsity and varsity contests.

Valpo to hold Athletic Hall of Fame Induction: On Jan. 20, the Valparaiso High School Athletic Hall of Fame will have an induction ceremony at the Old Town Banquet Center in Valparaiso.

This year's inductees include: Three families (Anselm, Butterfield, O'Neill), four coaches (John Cook, Terry Cox, John Knauff, Lorrie Woycik) and 10 individuals (Jim Arnold, Rob Cavanaugh, Erik Chilian, Micky Mannel-Copeland, Mike Jones, David Knott, Angie Cook-Moon, Joe Otis, Brett Polizotto, Pete Sattler).

There are about 250 tickets left and the last day to buy tickets will be Jan. 10. Tickets cost $35 and are available at the athletic office and will also be sold at all girls' and boys' home basketball games.

Subcribe to the Times

Reporting like this is brought to you by a staff of experienced local journalists committed to telling the stories of your community.
Support from subscribers is vital to continue our mission.

Become a subscriber

Thank you for being a loyal subsciber

Your contribution makes our mission possible.