Hebron Athletic Director and baseball coach John Steinhilber has been elected to the IHSAA Board of Directors.

He'll begin his term July 1. The area is already represented on the board by chariman Ed Gilliland (LaPorte), Patti McCormack (Lowell), Stacy Adams (Griffith) and David Amor (LaCrosse).

Valpo to hold Athletic Hall of Fame Induction: On Saturday, the Valparaiso High School Athletic Hall of Fame will have an induction ceremony at the Old Town Banquet Center in Valparaiso.

This year's inductees include: Three families (Anselm, Butterfield, O'Neill), four coaches (John Cook, Terry Cox, John Knauff, Lorrie Woycik) and 10 individuals (Jim Arnold, Rob Cavanaugh, Erik Chilian, Micky Mannel-Copeland, Mike Jones, David Knott, Angie Cook-Moon, Joe Otis, Brett Polizotto, Pete Sattler).

Boys swimming

Chesterton 137, LaPorte 49: Nick Hanas (200-yard freestyle, 100 backstroke) and Andrew Alders (200 individual medley, 100 butterfly) each won two individual events to lead the Trojans past the Slicers in a rescheduled Duneland Athletic Conference dual.

Jacob Cooper won the 50 free for LaPorte.

Munster 125, Lake Central 61: Holden Raffin (200 IM, 100 breaststroke) won two individual events to lead the Seahorses over the Indians.

Jack Tinsley (200 free) and Devin Menconi (diving) won events for Lake Central.

Girls swimming

Chesterton 147, LaPorte 39: Lauryn Kallay (200 free, 500 free) and Lauren Unruh (100 free, 100 breast) each won two individual events to lead the Trojans over the Slicers in a rescheduled DAC dual.

Lake Central 115, Munster 71: Hanna Spoolstra won the 200 free and 500 free to lead the Indians over the Seahorses.

Kay Foley won the 100 fly and 200 IM for Munster.

Girls volleyball

Wheeler needs a coach: Wheeler is seeking applications for head girls coach. Interested candidates should contact Randy Stelter at 219-759-2561, ext. 2237.

Subcribe to the Times

Reporting like this is brought to you by a staff of experienced local journalists committed to telling the stories of your community.
Support from subscribers is vital to continue our mission.

Become a subscriber

Thank you for being a loyal subsciber

Your contribution makes our mission possible.


The Times Media Company is dedicated to improving the quality of life in Northwest Indiana, through local news, information, service initiatives and community partnerships.