Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Indiana Basketball Coaches Association released its all-state girls basketball team, sponsored by Subway.

The IBCA named a "Supreme 15" for seniors and underclassmen, as well as all-state selections for large and small schools.

Jenasae Bishop (E.C. Central) and Daijah Smith (Lighthouse) were named to the Supreme 15 Senior All-State team, while Emma Nolan (Marquette Catholic) and Hannah Noveroske (Michigan City) earned Supreme 15 Underclass All-State honors. Justene Charlesworth (LaCrosse) was named to the Small School All-State team.

For underclassmen, Taiyanna Jackson (E.C. Central), Riley Ott (LaPorte) and Dash Shaw (West Side) were named to Large School All-State and Sophia Nolan (Marquette Catholic) was named to Small School All-State.

Senior honorable mention recipients include: Ari Gerdt (Valparaiso), Courtney Krol (Chesterton), Lauren Ladowski (Lake Central), Rachael Robards (Lake Central), Mya Scheidt (Crown Point), Morgan Shreves (Westville), Lauren Smolen (Lake Central), Alexis Switzer (Portage) and Arial Watts (Hammond).

Underclassmen honorable mentions include: Janicia Anderson (Michigan City), Taylor Austin (Lake Station), Sahara Bee (Morgan Twp.), Courtney Blakely (Bishop Noll), Tiara Jackson (E.C. Central), Karli Miller (Andrean) and Michaela Schmidt (Highland).

Boys basketball

Class A Tri-County Sectional: Covenant Chrisitian's quest for the program's first title took a step forward after a 72-49 opening-round win over West Central.

The Knights (21-2) advance to Friday's semifinals.


The Times Media Company is dedicated to improving the quality of life in Northwest Indiana, through local news, information, service initiatives and community partnerships.