Five local players are among 75 prep seniors who have been named academic all-state first team by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

The list includes Brock Pappas (Washington Township), Justene Charlesworth (LaCrosse), Chris Beezhold (Covenant Christian), Courtney Krol (Chesterton) and Ari Gerdt (Valparaiso).

Tyler Brankin, Jennifer Sheehan, (Highland), Dylan Clem (Washington Township), Noah Durr (Lowell), James Havrilla, Ian Mulle (Portage), Austin Peterson, Maddie Scott (Chesterton), Talia Bee (Morgan Township), Nichole Flowers, Jacqueline Leal (LaPorte) and Farrah Goodall (Michigan City) received honorable mention.

Criteria included a minimum 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale, a class rank in the upper 25 percent an SAT score of 1,100 (on the reading and math sections) or an ACT score of 24.

Nominations were reviewed by the IBCA committee to determine first team and honorable mention selection.

Valpo awards night Wednesday: Valparaiso will host its winter sports recognition program at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday.

The schedule of events will begin with the presentation of MVP winners in the auditorium.