Jeff Cannon blasts to victory at Illiana

2014-06-08T19:00:00Z 2014-06-08T19:32:40Z Jeff Cannon blasts to victory at IllianaStan Kalwasinski Times Correspondent nwitimes.com
June 08, 2014 7:00 pm  • 

SCHERERVILLE | Getting to the front quickly, Jeff Cannon stayed there and convincingly won Saturday night’s 30-lap Schepel Buick GMC Late Model stock car feature race at Illiana Motor Speedway.

The three-time track champion from Kouts wheeled Griffith businessman Wayne Govert’s Chevy Impala SS to the victory, which was Cannon’s second of the year at the half-mile paved raceway.

Cannon, the evening’s fastest qualifier, was using the outside groove to pick off positions early in the race before the yellow flag flew after four laps as Bobby Gash laid down some oil on the track from his smoking machine.

Cannon and early race leader Phil Splant of Dyer lined up side-by-side on a double-file restart with Cannon taking full advantage of the opportunity to take over first place when the green flag reappeared. Cannon stayed at the point and defeated Anthony Danta when the checkered flag fell.

Last week’s feature winner Eddie Hoffman finished third with Kouts’ Chris King and Splant rounding out the top five.

“I got lucky at the start and made up a bunch of positions right at the get go,” said Cannon. “I kind of set sail after that and kept my pace.”

Cannon finished second last week to Hoffman in a side-by-side battle.

“Last week was fun, but a little nerve-racking, so I had to keep a distance (over Danta),” said Cannon, who practiced most of the day in Wisconsin at the “Milwaukee Mile” for a 100-lap race on Sunday.

Coming back from an early race crash, Stan Zolodz IV of Hobart tracked down leader Paul Shafer Sr. and won the 12-lap Legends division main event. Zolodz picked up his third win of the season on the Illiana quarter-mile oval, taking the checkered flag over Shafer and Jason Ellis.

Chris Woodall of Blue Island continued his winning ways as he won the 20-lap Turbo Stox headliner. Picking up this third win of the year, Woodall and his Monte Carlo finished ahead of Valparaiso’s Ryan Moore and Billy Jarrells of Griffith.

Melissa Keuhs was a first-time feature winner in the Pure Stocks class as she wheeled her four-cylinder racer to victory over Kevin Sisk and Phil Sallay. Kenny Myer, 14, of Calumet Township won the six-lap Bandoleros feature on the quarter-mile, defeating a challenging Cole Sutton of Griffith.

Shadyhill Speedway: Wheatfield’s Nick Allen continues to be tough to beat, again winning the DIRTcar United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) 20-lap Modified stock car feature race at the quarter-mile dirt track.

Allen, a six-time Shadyhill champion, scored his fourth win of the year at the Medaryville oval ahead of Jesse Bitterling and Brad DeYoung.

Travis Wolford of Winamac was the winner of the 15-lap UMP Stock Cars main event, besting Charlie Poague and Chris Arihood. For the second week in a row, Tim Sullivan of Knox captured the 20-lap I-Mod division feature. Kerry Robbins won the 15-lap headliner for Pure Street division competitors with Harley Sutton of Hobart taking home top honors in the special 20-lap feature race for Teen 4s class drivers.

Plymouth Speedway: Tommy Beezley II of Churubusco scored his first win of the season in UMP Modified action as he won the 20-lap main event at the three-eighths mile dirt track. Beezley defeated Zeke McKenzie and division points leader, Jamie Lomax of Lake Village.

Dean Baker of Muncie claimed top honors in the 20-lap Super Street main event as he bested Brandon Roundtree and David Short. Bryce Shidler of Winamac was the winner of the Thunder Stocks 15-lap feature as he took the win over John Rhoads. Dawson Stealy from Lakeville came home the winner of the 20-lap feature race for 600 Open Sprints.

Copyright 2014 nwitimes.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



Which team will win the World Series?

View Results

NFL News