Sports Digest: Eight VU softball players earn NFCA honors

2012-12-06T21:30:00Z 2012-12-07T14:17:33Z Sports Digest: Eight VU softball players earn NFCA honors
December 06, 2012 9:30 pm

College football

NOTRE DAME'S TE'O, KELLY HONORED: Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's most outstanding player.

Te'o was presented with the award Thursday at the Home Depot College Football Awards show at Disney World. He beat out finalists and quarterbacks Johnny Manziel from Texas A&M and Collin Klein from Kansas State.

He is the first defensive player to win the award since 1980, ending a string of nine straight quarterbacks.

It's the sixth national award that Te'o has won since the end of the regular season. The Fighting Irish senior has also has won the Bednarik Award, Butkus Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lombardi Award and Walter Camp national player of the year award.

Te'o is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented on Saturday.

Notre Dame's Brian Kelly won coach of the year. He becomes the first two-time winner, having previously received the honor in 2009 while he was at Cincinnati.

Kelly joins Lou Holtz as the only Notre Dame coaches to post winning seasons in each of their first three seasons at the school.


Pro baseball

CUBS, SCHIERHOLTZ NEARING AGREEMENT: A person familiar with the negotiations says outfielder Nate Schierholtz and the Cubs are closing in on a one-year, $2.25 million contract.

The person, speaking Wednesday on the condition of anonymity because the deal had not been finalized, confirmed reports by several media outlets. Schierholtz can earn an additional $500,000 in performance bonuses.

"I'm so excited for the opportunity to play in Chicago," Schierholtz said in a text message to The Associated Press.

Schierholtz batted .257 with six homers in 114 games this year.


Women's basketball

CAL COLLEGE LOSES TO CLARKE: Karina Robinson notched 22 points for Calumet College in the Crimson Wave's 66-52 loss to Clarke University on Thursday.

Raven Phillips was credited with a double-double of 12 points and 10 rebounds, and Dominique Edwards added 12 points for Cal College (5-5).

MOSES LEADS NO. 15 PURDUE PAST IPFW: Courtney Moses scored 19 points, and Drey Mingo posted a double-double to lead No. 15 Purdue (8-1) to a 69-54 win against IPFW on Thursday night.


Men's basketball

REDHAWKS FALL AT HOME: IU Northwest received 18 points from Morgan Township grad Brandon Grubl, but it wasn't enough as Lindenwood-Belleville routed the RedHawks 94-68.

Baile Barnett (West Side) had 13 points and nine rebounds, while Devin Ellis (Clark) added 12 points.

ST. JOSEPH'S COLLEGE DROPS HOME GAME: Dayvon Sloan recorded 27 points, eclipsing the 1,000-point mark for his career, but visiting Cedarville escaped with a 76-69 win.

D.J. Martinez had 14 points, while Damon Ellison Jr. pulled down 10 rebounds.

SOUTH SUBURBAN WINS 21ST STRAIGHT AT HOME: E.C. Central's Michael Harris scored a game-high 42 points to give the Bulldogs a 93-85 overtime win over visiting Kankakee.

Kadeem Thornton had 16 points; Bryce Walker (E.C. Central) scored 14 points, and Anthony Strickland added 12 points.


Pro football

MANNING KEEPS BRONCOS ROLLING: After overwhelming another overmatched division rival, Peyton Manning and the streaking Denver Broncos can turn their attention to much more meaningful opponents.

Manning threw for 310 yards and had his 30th touchdown pass of the season on the game's opening drive to help the Broncos roll to their eighth straight victory, 26-13 over the Oakland Raiders on Thursday night.

Knowshon Moreno ran for 119 yards and a score on a career-high 32 carries, and Matt Prater kicked four field goals to help the Broncos (10-3) move a half-game ahead of New England and Baltimore for the second-best record in the AFC. Denver visits Baltimore next week in a game that will help decide who gets a first-round playoff bye.


College softball

EIGHT VU PLAYERS EARN NFCA HONORS: Eight Valparaiso University softball players were named National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-America Scholar Athletes.

The list includes Hayley Bridwell, Tori Brown, Angie Doerffler, Jennifer Hermanson, Joylyn Ichiyama, Shaleigh Jansen, Amanda Korb and Kelsey Phalen.

The award is given to any player submitted by a member coach who achieved a 3.50 grade point average or higher during the 2011-2012 academic year.


College sports

DELANY SAYS BIG TEN 'INACTIVE BUT ALERT' ON EXPANSION: Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany described the conference's current position on expansion is "inactive but alert."

The Big Ten unexpectedly shook up the landscape of major college sports last month when it announced Rutgers and Maryland would be joining. Maryland will lead the Atlantic Coast Conference and join the Big Ten in 2014. Rutgers' departure date from the Big East is more ambiguous, but the Big Ten and the school would like it to be by 2014.

Delany says that while there are risks that come with expansion, the Big Ten felt there was more long-term risk for the conference if it did not expand toward the East Coast.


Around the horn

The Hammond Optimist Bulldogs will hold travel baseball team tryouts for 9-and-under, 10U, 11U and 12U teams for the 2013 season Saturday at Dave Griffin's Baseball School, 1200 W. Main St. Tryouts for the 9U and 10U teams are at 3 p.m.; tryouts for the 11U and 12U teams are at 4:30 p.m. For details, call Doyle Godbolt at (219) 512-4543 or Tim Bell at (219) 484-0568, or email ... Wisconsin director of athletics Barry Alvarez says he'll coach the Badgers in next month's Rose Bowl, where they will play No. 8 Stanford. Alvarez made the announcement Thursday, a day after former coach Bret Bielema took the job at Arkansas.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers



Which team will win the World Series?

View Results

NFL News