Sports Digest: Five Valpo softball players receive Horizon League honors

2013-05-07T21:15:00Z 2013-09-16T19:36:17Z Sports Digest: Five Valpo softball players receive Horizon League honors
May 07, 2013 9:15 pm

Pro baseball

WOOD OUTPITCHES LYNN IN CUBS' WIN: Travis Wood pitched impressively into the seventh inning to outduel Lance Lynn; Nate Schierholtz hit a two-run homer, and the Cubs snapped the St. Louis Cardinals' six-game winning streak with a 2-1 victory Tuesday night.

The Cardinals' streak was their longest since an eight-game run July 11-21, 2010.

Wood (2-3) allowed one run and five hits while striking out eight in 6 2-3 innings for his first win since April 27 at Miami.

Carlos Marmol relieved Wood with two outs in the seventh and pitched 1 1/3 scoreless innings. In the eighth he allowed a single to Yadier Molina and walked Jon Jay before getting out of the inning by picking Molina off between second and third.

Lynn (5-1) was trying to become the National League's first pitcher to win six games.

RAILCATS WIN EXHIBITION OPENER: Drew Martinez and Danny Pulfer each had two hits as the RailCats defeated Schaumburg 4-1 in their exhibition opener Tuesday. The Boomers were limited to four hits in the win.


College softball

FIVE CRUSADERS RECOGNIZED BY LEAGUE: Five Valparaiso players earned Horizon League honors, including senior Joylyn Ichiyama's second consecutive appearance on the first team.

Sophomore Brittany Duncan and freshmen Kaitlyn Ranieri (Lake Central), Janelle Bouchard and Taylor Weissenhofer were named to the second team. Bouchard and Weissenhofer were also named to the all-newcomer team.


College baseball

KOWAKCZYK LEADS VALPARAISO TO WIN: Karch Kowalczyk had a double and two RBIs to lead Valparaiso to a 5-2 win over Chicago State on Tuesday. Tanner Vavra and Spencer Mahoney each had two hits and an RBI for the Crusaders (24-23).


College sports

ATHLETES HONORED AT VALPO'S ARC AWARDS PROGRAM: Valparaiso's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee announced its year-end selections Sunday at the fifth-annual Athletic Recognition Ceremony awards program.

Senior volleyball player Taylor Root was named Female Athlete of the Year, while senior soccer player Kyle Zobeck was named Male Athlete of the Year. Basketball player LaVonte Dority was named Male Newcomer of the Year, while volleyball player Kelsey Berrington was named Female Newcomer of the Year. Soccer player Tom Serratore received the Bill Steinbrecher Sportsmanship Award, while golfer Kelly Voigt received the Rebecca D. Carter Memorial Award.


Pro basketball

KNICKS EVEN SERIES WITH PACERS: Carmelo Anthony scored 32 points, 16 during a 30-2 New York onslaught in the second half, the Knicks beat the Pacers 105-79 on Tuesday night to even the Eastern Conference semifinals at one game.

Iman Shumpert added 15 points, including a sensational follow dunk in the first half, and Raymond Felton scored 14 as the Knicks turned a close game into a blowout over the final 15 minutes.

Paul George scored 20 points for the Pacers, who had a two-point lead and momentum when coach Frank Vogel called timeout with a little more than 3 minutes left in the third quarter.

By the time the Pacers made their next basket, the Knicks had opened a 26-point advantage.

Game 3 is Saturday at Indianapolis.


College football

WUERFFEL, DAYNE, FRAZIER SELECTED TO HALL: Heisman Trophy winners Danny Wuerffel of Florida and Ron Dayne of Wisconsin, along with two-time national champion Tommie Frazier of Nebraska, have been selected for induction to the College Football Hall of Fame.

They are part of a class of 12 players and two coaches chosen by the National Football Foundation and revealed Tuesday.

The rest of the players to be inducted in December are: Miami Heisman winner Vinny Testaverde, whose selection was announced Monday; Ted Brown of North Carolina State; Tedy Bruschi of Arizona; Jerry Gray of Texas; Steve Meilinger of Kentucky; Orlando Pace of Ohio State; Rod Shoate of Oklahoma; Percy Snow of Michigan State, and Don Trull of Baylor.

The new Hall of Fame coaches are Wayne Hardin, who led Navy and Temple, and Bill McCartney of Colorado.


Men's basketball

NCAA SEMIFINAL GAMES MOVING TO CABLE IN 2014: The Final Four's first two games are moving to cable next year.

CBS and Turner Sports said Tuesday the national semifinals will air on TBS in 2014 and 2015, with the title game remaining on CBS.

Under the 14-year deal the companies signed with the NCAA in 2010, CBS and TBS will alternate broadcasting the entire Final Four after that. TBS will have it in 2016 and CBS in 2017.


Women's basketball

SJC HIRES NEW COACH: After an extensive search with 100 applicants, St. Joseph's College announced Tuesday that Steve Harold has accepted the position of head coach.

Previously, Harold coached six seasons at Drury University. He compiled a 129-52 record, won the Great Lakes Valley Conference twice and qualified for the NCAA Division II Tournament in the first five of those seasons.


Around the horn

NASCAR's chief appeals officer has upheld the fines and points penalties against Penske Racing for parts infractions at Texas last month. John Middlebrook issued his decision Tuesday. He did reduce the suspensions of team members from the next six races to the next two, which means they can return to the track at Dover for the June 2 race.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



How will the Bulls do this season?

View Results

NFL News