Sports Digest: Munster's Scholtman contributes to record all-star win

2013-06-14T21:30:00Z 2013-09-16T18:51:17Z Sports Digest: Munster's Scholtman contributes to record all-star win
June 14, 2013 9:30 pm

Prep basketball

MUNSTER'S SCHLOTMAN CONTRIBUTES TO RECORD ROUT: Munster's Michael Schlotman registered five rebounds and three assists in 12 minutes as Indiana recorded the most lopsided victory in its boys all-star series with Kentucky on Friday, scoring a 114-60 rout at Louisville's Freedom Hall.

Indiana was up 15 at halftime before outscoring Kentucky 70-31 in the second half. Schlotman went scoreless, not attempting a shot while missing two free throws. VU recruit Clay Yeo tallied 12 points on 5-of-6 shooting to go with three boards in 14 minutes. V.J. Beachem led all scorers with 22 points.

The Kentucky girls defeated the Indiana girls 84-78.


Prep baseball

LOCAL PLAYERS STAR AT THE CELL: Washington's Jesse Lopez pitched 1 2/3 perfect innings as the Public League All-Stars beat the Catholic League All-Stars 7-3 Friday at U.S. Cellular Field.

Mount Carmel's Jerry Houston, a Dolton resident and Oregon recruit, was 2-for-4 with a run scored for the Catholic League. Teammates Jason Gasser, a Dyer resident, and Beau Filkins each had an RBI.

Mount Carmel's Jeremy Kravetz, a Lansing resident and Kansas recruit, pitched two innings and took the loss.


Pro hockey

TOEWS WINS SELKE AWARD FOR BEST DEFENSIVE FORWARD: Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews won the Frank J. Selke Trophy for the NHL's best defensive forward Friday, and Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators is the league's coach of the year.

The 25-year-old Toews was third in the NHL with a plus-28 rating in 47 games in the regular season. The center also was a finalist for the award after the 2010-11 season.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron also was up the award. Toews and Bergeron are currently competing in the Stanley Cup finals.

The Lady Byng trophy for the NHL's most sportsmanlike player went to Tampa Bay forward Martin St. Louis for the third time in four seasons.

Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins is the general manager of the year, and Minnesota Wild goalie Josh Harding won the NHL's Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance.


Pro baseball

RAILCATS EARN ROAD WIN: Craig Maddox homered, and Zac Mitchell drove in three runs as the RailCats downed host Fargo-Moorhead 6-4 on Friday.

Mitchell and Steve Liddle each notched two hits for Gary. Alain Quinjano worked six innings, allowing three runs, to claim the win. Clay Zavada tossed a scoreless ninth for the save.

Before the game, the RailCats bolstered their pitching staff with the signing of former Arizona Diamondbacks prospect Billy Spottiswood. Rookie infielder Ryan Miller was placed on irrevocable waivers.

Spottiswood reached as high as Triple-A in 2009 and 2010.


Youth football

PIERRE THOMAS CAMP NEXT WEEK: The Pierre Thomas Football Skill Day with be conducted from 1 to 3 p.m. Thursday at T.F. South High School.

Registration forms are online at Then go to the sports/football link. Lansing and Lynwood residents have first priority. The camp is open to students entering grades four through eight. No registrations will be taken on the day of the skills event.


Auto racing

EDWARDS TOPS CUP QUALIFYING AT MICHIGAN: Carl Edwards topped qualifying for the first time this season with a lap of 202.452 mph at Michigan International Speedway on Friday.

Edwards was given the pole in May at Talladega as well, but that was because qualifying was rained out and the field was set by practice speeds. He's second in the Sprint Cup standings.

Kurt Busch was second in qualifying, followed by Kasey Kahne. Points leader Jimmie Johnson was 17th.

MARCO ANDRETTI WINS POLE AT MILWAUKEE: Marco Andretti led a powerful Andretti Autosport rout Friday as all four drivers landed in the top five of qualifying at the Milwaukee Mile.

Andretti won the pole with a two-lap average speed of 170.515 mph around the mile oval. James Hinchcliffe was second at 170.418 for a 1-2 finish for the Andretti cars.

Will Power broke up an Andretti sweep by qualifying third at 170.212.

But Power was followed by defending race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay and E.J. Viso as the Andretti drivers proved they are the ones to beat today in the 250-mile IndyCar race.

MUSGRAVE MEMORIAL TODAY AT ILLIANA: The 12th annual Elmer Musgrave Memorial will take place today at Illiana Motor Speedway.

Gates will open at 4 p.m.; time trials will be at 5:30, and the first race will start at 7. Cost is $15 for adults, $5 for children aged 8 to 12.

For details, call (219) 322-5311, or go to


Around the horn

The Bears signed tackle A.J. Lindeman to a three-year contract Friday. The 6-foot-6, 300-pound Lindeman appeared in 31 games with 13 starts over four seasons with Toledo. In 2012, he started all 13 games for the Rockets at right tackle. ... President Barack Obama honored the WNBA champion Fever at a White House ceremony Friday, calling the players an inspiration to young athletes — even those on his daughter Sasha's basketball team. ... Arizona pitcher Ian Kennedy has been suspended for 10 games and Diamondbacks infielder Eric Hinske for five for their roles in a brawl this week, while managers Don Mattingly and Kirk Gibson have been given one-game bans.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



Which team will win the World Series?

View Results

NFL News